Appreciation in Day by Day

  • Jan. 11, 2018, 11:49 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’m busy, busy, busy with the non-profit. Next week is a fundraising workshop to learn how to qualify for extra prizes during the matching grant funds. End of year bookkeeping details are still being dealt with and will be on-going for the next two months (poor me). No, not poor me. I paid my bills and ate food this week while a woman in Bangladesh sits in her tent and wonders if she’ll eat today.

Not all is drudgery, of course. I saw a comedy show at the theater with a girlfriend last Tuesday. We stopped for dinner at Chili’s. I had the Caribbean salad with shrimp and avocado add-ons. It was delicious and much like the salads I make, but was missing croutons. And we are going to dinner (Asian this time) with friends next Tuesday.

Medical news is mixed. MRI reveals extensive arthritis in the spine: discs rub against each other. So now I’m on Naproxen (anti-inflammatory) and a pill similar to Nexium. Relief was immediate. I researched the medicine and it is not addictive. Hard on the blood pressure and on the stomach, though. I’m trying it for 30 days and I meet with the doctor to assess in February. If I still want a kidney scan, she’ll order one up. She says it’s arthritis, not kidneys. When she presses on my hip bones, it hurts a LOT, so she might be right.

Medical news on the husband is great. He’ll outlive us all, I tell him. I hope so. I need his Social Security check, too. Joking! I’m joking! Sorta. As we move into retirement, what once seemed ample is now reviewed with skepticism, especially as prices skyrocket. My husband’s thyroid medicine is going up in price. Its manufactured in Puerto Rico and now there’s a shortage.

I received an incredibly kind letter from a friend of my niece’s, in which she listed why she admired and liked me. I had no idea I had influenced her to such a degree, but my heart was warmed knowing that fact. I laughed at one line, in which she said she loved that I spoke plainly and directly and did not hesitate to call BS, yet was compassionate to those who were dealing with BS in their life. Well, she said it better than that, but I can’t find the letter and that’s the best I can remember it. Anyway, it warmed my heart and I thought, gee, we should all do that more often!

So let me tell you all how very much I enjoy our community here. The OD drama is gone and its just a bunch of ordinary old us, living our lives and sharing our thoughts. Through your eyes, I see your world. Through your words, I live in your world for a few minutes. I might not always agree with you and don’t expect that you’ll always agree with me, but I do enjoy our conversations and thank you for it. In many ways, my life is isolated, in that I work from home and don’t have people dropping in unexpectedly. I have no daughters or sisters. Most of my work is on the phone or computer. Much of it is emotionally or intellectually draining. I DO have a social life and am not agoraphobic, but I can be reclusive by choice, mostly to recharge my batteries. You folks keep me company during the week. The social interaction is a delicious treat. Thank you!


a mote, floating January 12, 2018

Naproxen sodium is the ingredient in Aleve. I'm glad it's giving you relief and that you can continue with it. Yay on the excellent medical report for your husband.

Great letter from your niece's friend.

I hear you on the isolation. I work from home, too, and don't go out much (between being a caregiver and dealing with my own side effects from anti-cancer meds). I enjoy the occasional gathering but am just as happy curling up with a good book. Only child and the last of my line, so I enjoy my own company. :-)

ConnieK a mote, floating ⋅ January 12, 2018

I'm okay with my own company, but I do get lonely at times. Not sure about the Naproxen...stomach was squirrelly today. I wonder why I wasn't just told to take Aleve. Is Naproxen stronger?

a mote, floating ConnieK ⋅ January 12, 2018

It's possible your Naproxen Rx is stronger than Aleve. While undergoing chemo I took prescription-strength Prilosec, which is stronger than OTC, because chemo gave me terrible heartburn (even swallowing a sip of water was painful). The Rx Prilosec nipped that problem in the bud. I hope your stomach feels better.

ConnieK a mote, floating ⋅ January 12, 2018

I think it's just a matter of my stomach getting used to it. I take the pill that coats my stomach about 20 minutes before the meal (breakfast/dinner) and the Naproxen after the meal. The Naproxen is helping. I notice a definite drop in pain.

Chic Chat January 12, 2018

I love the idea of building each other up more often. I'm going to add that to my goal list.

You my dear are always a source of great comfort and wise advice. I am beyond blessed to have you in my life.

ConnieK Chic Chat ⋅ January 12, 2018

Thank you! I like you, too. :)

GypsyWynd January 12, 2018

You're welcome, and thank you, too!
Good news about your husband😊. Not so good about your spine😕

ConnieK GypsyWynd ⋅ January 12, 2018

I knew the spine was bad, but I honestly thought it was kidney related.

Wranglingal January 14, 2018

Arthritis really STINKS!! With having Psoriatic Arthritis a long with Psoriasis its so painful and not being able to take any Anti inflammatory meds, just glad you can tolerate those meds. I hope you can still do some small exercises during your day!
Sending you some healing thoughts to you too!!

ConnieK Wranglingal ⋅ January 14, 2018

I've no idea what kind of arthritis I have, but yes, aging stinks on the body, but I still am grateful for the wisdom. :)

QueenSuzu January 18, 2018

Such a nice entry! But then you always have good entries. Great news about your husband, not so great news about your medical but see what the dr says after your month of taking the meds.

ConnieK QueenSuzu ⋅ January 18, 2018

Thank you! I may see my doctor earlier than that if I don't manage to shake this cold.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.