And Again in General

  • Jan. 5, 2018, 9:34 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

The wind whipped up and the snow started again. This is starting to get me down! 8F and falling.

If the weather would calm down I could go flying again.

I was watching an episode of “Criminal Minds” on the DVR when I heard over the Unicom scanner “Emergency in progress…“

So I paused the show to listen in on what was going on. Nothing.

Ten minutes later I hear “Brunswick Traffic, stay clear of taxiway alpha.” Then nothing.

I almost want to go over just to see what the fuck is going on. But there is nothing I could add to the fight. Maybe if it was a tactical aircraft accident I could tell the first responders “You probably don’t want to touch that.”

My folks have a neighbor who is battling brain cancer. Brain cancer seems to be a thing in Maine. Dude is only a few years older than me. I was shooting the shit with Dad earlier, and he suddenly had to go. Turns out dude had been rushed back up to Maine Med in Lewiston and my folks needed to run his wife up there. Doesn’t sound good.

When I punch, I don’t want it to be during a nasty as shit snowstorm in a hospital.

Go to sleep on a beach.

Thylane Blondeau. Declared at the age of three to be the most beautiful girl in the world. Can’t disagree, but I have a weird fatherly instinct that having millions of people all over the world reinforcing that can not be good for that girl. She is 16 (SIXTEEN!) in this photo.


Last updated January 05, 2018


Deleted user January 05, 2018

Have you seen Thylane’s mother? That’s exactly where she gets that beauty. I follow both of them on social media and they are so intriguing.

Duke Deleted user ⋅ January 06, 2018

I haven't really read that much about them. I think I was in a doctor's waiting room when I first read about Thylane. I just remember thinking it was incredibly unfair to put that much weight on a babies shoulders.

gattaca January 06, 2018

The news feeds out here (the same ones that freak out when Trump farts), were breathlessly falling all over themselves over the BOMB CYCLONE.
Get a grip; yeah it's a lot of snow and it's damned cold and Brant Rock (Mass) is flooded (not uncommon). My sister says they've got 15 inches where they are in Marlboro and the basement flooded at their Summer house in Mattapoisett.
In other words - a fairly typical New England Winter storm.

Duke gattaca ⋅ January 06, 2018

I noticed about 7 years ago there was a push to come up with names for normal winter weather. They started calling snow "a snow event," then there was "Snowmaggedon," then "Polar Vortex!!!!!" then this year "Bomb Cyclone!!!" I just imagine a bunch of millennials in a conference room at 30 Rock scribbling on legal pads while someone yells at them "Come on! Try!"

Kristi1971 gattaca ⋅ January 08, 2018

No kidding! I was watching the news and reading their description of this bomb cyclone, and all I could think of was, "well that's just your typical Nor'Easter......what the heck? Way too much drama.

TruNorth January 09, 2018

For us oldie-van-mouldies (moi) we've seen this all before in the 1950-60's. Winters were long (started in Nov, ended in May, unless you lived in Calgary where they started Sep 5 and ended in June) cold and snowy. Today's snowflakes wouldn't stand a chance...

Duke TruNorth ⋅ January 11, 2018

When I was a kid in UP Michigan back in the early 70s we regularly got 2-4' snowfalls. We got up, ate our oatmeal and walked to school.

Deleted user January 13, 2018

Society these days encourages girls to be dressed like sex objects when they are barely in puberty then when men look , we accuse them of being deviant . Why can’t we let children be children ? Thylane is made up and dressed in that picture like she is 22 or 23 . Nothing like a 16 year Old should be . Shame on her parents.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.