update #1: surgery & recovery... in 30's

  • Jan. 5, 2018, 2 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

…has sucked. On Friday, a week ago tomorrow I had to have a permanent toe removal on my toe. It’s given me issues for 10 years & after 2 temporary removals over that span it wasn’t any better. Very prone to ingrowing & Florin’s had to cut them out so, so many times. So I decided it was time to remove it permanently to try putting all this behind me.
I had to be at my appointment for 730 so mom came over & watched the kids. Accidentally we didn’t set an alarm clock & the kids didn’t wake us up so mom came into the house & we were all in bed with bell dog laying beside me lol. We jumped up & got ready surprisingly we weren’t late. Florin wanted to watch the surgery but the dr had him wait outside.
I never get used to how painful it is to have needles put in your toe. About a half hour later the procedure was done. They actually put stitches in my toe! But thankfully they put some kind of something on that delayed the freezing coming off effect so when we got home I didn’t have any pain. I’m not actually sure when the pain started hitting me. The worst of it was for sure NYE night though. For 2 hours that night I was in such pain. It felt like my skin was being torn backwards off the nail. I took 2 t3s & neoprene but nothing could touch the pain. That was probably the worst of it.
I’ve had to watch the kids Wed, Thurs & today while Florins been working. Tuesday they went to Lena’s. Taking care of the kids fluctuates between “ok” & “this is so hard.” When we’re watching tv or something it’s not so bad but making meals etc can get a bit painful. In short, I’m surviving but wish Florin didn’t have to work such long hours this week. He went from being paid salary to per hour & to get enough $ he needs to put in longer hours sometimes. He told me last night to make what he was making before he needs 12 extra hours a month on top of his usual hours so that’s difficult & he can’t choose when to do the extra. He is off tomorrow & sunday thankfully.
Tomorrow morning 9am, I get my stitches out. Dad’s coming over to watch the kids. To say I’m nervous & not looking forward to it would be an understatement. The pains been manageable except for when it gets touched. I’m really worried about extra pain. I don’t know what it’ll be like after that. I’m scheduled for my night shift Monday & don’t think I can do it. We’ll see how this weekend goes.
My toe is still really sensitive to pressure. Last night Florin threw a sheet on it accidentally & it made me cry. Kassies turned into godzilla & doesn’t understand but I feel like she’s always coming for my feet to step on. The amount of times I’ve had to say any variation of “watch my toe’ per day.. & kassie mainly sabotages the floors with toys. Kids are good about picking up after her but that doesn’t mean I haven’t kicked a boot or book, yeah, I don’t recommend that. And I’m so over this helpless feeling. I want to be back to my usual self.


Last updated January 05, 2018


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.