Winter Storm Grayson - SE North Carolina in General Mental Anesthesia

  • Jan. 5, 2018, 2:35 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Lot’s of pics and short video clips for you to enjoy… after a brief diatribe…

I hate the naming of these winter storms!

The Weather Channel started it in 2012, but I’m against it (many are in fact (Media news outlets - Meteorologists etc…)) The point basically is that if a winter storm affects enough of an area (land mass) and enough people, like 2 mil or something, than they name it. I believe also to help people track them, but still… I may have only been 4 years old and living in SE Massachusetts, but I remember “The Blizzard of ‘78”. Perhaps in our dumbed down society, they deem it necessary to make things easier for us. Just wait, in 30 more years it’ll go from names to colors and animals… Winter storm Green Ferret is baring down on New England....

Ugh… but I digress....

You know… I’m from Boston, lived there for half my life, then lived in South Florida for half my life. It’s odd that now that I’m in Eastern North Carolina, it’s the first time since the early 90’s that I’ve seen significant snow accumulation and it’s exceedingly rare for any snow accumulation to happen here.

We got just over 6” to be exact.

Of course it started out with rain, then freezing rain, sleet then ice pellets as temperatures hovered around 33 degrees.

I know the mail will be probably be delivered today, but good luck getting in there!

Before it changed over to snow, we had received about 1/4 inch of ice!

And when it hit, it hard… full on blizzard!

About 2am this morning…

I had to walk Inspector Noodles in it. At 13 years old, it was the 1st time he had seen or felt snow… He was not a fan!

And speaking of 1st times… it was my niece Talya’s first time experiencing snow!

Some pictures from today…

If you look closely… I think this leaf fell last night and on it’s way down got frozen to this branch, how’s that for cold!

And a few more of Talya’s first snow experience!

She doesn’t like wearing the hood or hats or mittens… but even though she didn’t seem to mind, I couldn’t let her stay out there unprotected; so I gave her my Star Wars hat. She never tried to take it off.

Hashtag: #youngstarwarsfan

Oh and lastly… this happened!


Kristi1971 January 05, 2018

I'm from Maine - I'm not a fan of that either. Poor Inspector Noodles.

Exhumed By Scrying Eyes Kristi1971 ⋅ January 05, 2018

I grew up in Massachusetts, I could never adapt to the cold. Then having lived in South Florida for half my life and now that I'm dealing with single digit temperatures... It's sooo much worse!

I walked Noodles last night... He wants this snow and ice gone like yesterday!

Leanne 🌈 January 05, 2018

Star War hat FTW ☺
Nice shots as always again she is beyond adorable. ☺

Noodles that face 🐕.

Marg January 05, 2018

Oh poor Inspector Noodles - he’s really not a fan is he?! That wee one is just gorgeous - and obviously has very good taste!😄

Exhumed By Scrying Eyes Marg ⋅ January 08, 2018

We've been in a deep freeze... this dog really isn't winterized despite hailing from China.

Gilraent January 05, 2018

We've only had a dusting or two this year in MO. ::knock on wood:: no ice though! I'll deal with a ton of snow, as long as there isn't any ice.

Exhumed By Scrying Eyes Gilraent ⋅ January 08, 2018

It's been cold and icy and well... just repeat those two things a few times. Should warm up a bit tomorrow, at least get above freezing, but it's only 8pm and already it's 13 degrees out.

Gilraent Exhumed By Scrying Eyes ⋅ January 08, 2018

lol I did jinx myself with the whole "no ice" thing lol ah man.

Oswego January 10, 2018

Great pics and one really gets a sense of what the cold weather has been like there!

Exhumed By Scrying Eyes Oswego ⋅ January 10, 2018

Thank you. It's warmed up here, 60's yesterday and today. Finally got the snow & ice to melt. It's an ugly world out there now, but much less slippery.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.