This Is What It Feels Like in Never Say Never

  • Feb. 2, 2014, 6:47 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

A few weeks ago I was lying on my back in yoga before class, soaking up the heat and looking for gratitude, when a little train of thought ran through my head: This is what it feels like to have everything taken care of. This is what it feels like to not want. This is what it feels like to not need. This is what it feels like when everything is in its place. This is what it feels like to not be worried about anything.

I've been thinking about that train ever since. Observing that there's only the slightest urge to wreck my life. Because it's not like I haven't had everything in place before -- friends, home, money, job, man, dogs, everything and all things -- but in the past I've been overwhelmed with the need to turn over the apple cart and maybe even stomp all the apples. (How do you like those mixed metaphors?)

This is what it feels like. I can't say that it feels good. Contentment is not familiar territory and it makes me squirm. But only a little. And that's something.


Mercurial Muse February 02, 2014

:)

Satine February 02, 2014

In theory I think it's good to be content without getting complacent...it's a tough line to walk though!

At Last February 03, 2014

Took me 45 years to understand that this is a good thing - feeling content, having all that I needed. No idea why I fought it for so long. It's wonderful. I'm glad you are there.

daylight February 03, 2014

Though it can be unsettling, I'm all for contentment.

brian February 03, 2014

"He who is not contented with what he has, would not be contented with what he would like to have." Socrates

SweetMelissa March 06, 2014

I wish I knew what those things feel like.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.