Sunday 02/02/14 in Lady Loves the Ocean

  • Feb. 2, 2014, 5:18 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I am sitting here with the pre-superbowl stuff on the tv. Not really interested in the game. Don't know if I will switch the channel or just sit down and read and leave it on in the background.

I really don't like this set up here. I miss OD. But I am thankful that several of my friends from OD have come over here and I have them added to my friends list. I am very sad about OD being shut down. I had been writing over there since 2006. Sometimes not constantly but I always knew it was there when I wanted to come back and write.

I am so over Winter and I am ready for Spring. We had sunshine today. But it only got up to 10 degrees. We have had a lot of bitterly cold days. Not a lot of snow but high winds that make it worse than having tons of snow. The worst has been the temps below zero making the wind chills -20 and -40 below at times. I had to replace my heat tape and a shut off valve on my water heater because my pipes kept freezing. And then I had to turn around and buy a new battery for my car. Never mind the heating bills.

At least I haven't had to go out to often and brave the weather. Since I am no longer working I only go out once or twice a week at the most. And that is to the dr. and to stock up on groceries again.

I have been applying for jobs online. Now I am going to have to wait. I went to the neurologist last week and had the EMG to try to figure out about the numbness in my left foot. He said the test shows that the problem is coming from my back. Go figure. I had a bad episode back in May that required time in the hospital and 3 epidurals in my lower back. The back pain got better but the numbness in my left foot never went away. I thought some of it had to do with my diabetes. But the doctor that did the EMG said there is nerve blockage coming for the s1 L5 area of my back. So I am having another MRI on Thursday Feb. 6th. I really don't want to have back surgery. But I really don't want to walk with this limp for the rest of my life either. So we shall see what the dr. says. Hope for the best.

One good thing is that my severance package runs until the middle of July. That will be when I get my last check so i do have some time to find a job. And if I need surgery I hope to get it done asap. Before Spring.

I have a lot on my mind all the time it seems. So much so I am having trouble sleeping. I wake up several times in the middle of the night. I started taking Melatonin Friday night. I hope it helps. I need sleep. With the other things going on with my health it wouldn't be good to be losing sleep.

The game is starting. I am going to stop here for now.

More later. S.


Silent Echo/Quiet Storm February 02, 2014

i came here on july 4th last year. guess i'm used to it already. it's different it will never be od. od will be gone in the next 7 days or less. and that's sad. i was there since september 17, 1999. i will miss it terribly but, things don't seem to last forever and never as long as we wish they would. we'll all get used to prosebox. just takes time. take care,

Darcy0207 from OD February 03, 2014

I am grateful that PB exists. I'd used gather.com in addition to OD, but it just wasn't the same. Any damage to the back will radiate along the nerves to the body part they connect with. I am hoping for you that the doctors can recommend something that is NOT surgery.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.