Happiness is nothing more than good health and a bad memory ~ Albert Schweitzer in Life is just a bowl of... everything

  • Feb. 2, 2014, 4:31 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I really tried to write an entry about the past and how my mom came to live with us. I spent an hour writing it and then I just stopped, knowing that I didn't want to be doing this, I rarely think about the past and it didn't feel comfortable. So I wrote this instead...

Mama didn't want to give up her independence but she didn't realize that her memory was fading and it wasn't safe for her to live alone. NC is 750 miles from MI and I couldn't keep going there for months every time something happened. It took a long time to convince her to move here, one day I'll write a fo entry to explain how that went down.

She has three things that I believe is holding her together at the tender age of 93.

First, she has an amazing immune system. Our Naturopath is in awe and brags about her to all of his patents. I attribute this partially to a healthy lifestyle, she gave up smoking 50 years ago and never was a drinker. She loves to keep going, shopping, helps me with meals, etc. I remember her doctors saying that she had good blood. Her grandmother lived to be 100.

Second, her memory loss started around five, six years ago. Repeating herself, not remembering what had just happened, stuff like that. About two, three years ago, I was doing research on memory loss and came across an article about a Dr. Mary Newport whose husband had alzheimers and she started giving him coconut oil combined with MCT oil and was able to reverse his memory loss! So I found out her formula, bought organic first pressed coconut oil and the MCT oil and off we went. I started using it at the same time, and amazingly started losing weight, twenty pounds! The effect of the combination lasted for that twenty pounds only and I haven't lost more weight since, dang it. I haven't been able to reverse her memory loss but I'm not giving her the larger dose that this doctor gave her husband under our own Naturopath's advice. But the fact is, her memory hasn't worsened and when I've missed a few days without giving it to her, I can see her going backwards. It must be done every day, the effects don't accumulate.

Third, she's young at heart! She loves living and she's grateful for everything. Whenever we go out, she constantly runs up to anyone and gives them a compliment :) 'Oh, I love your hair, purse, sweater' whatever. She's such a butterfly lol. When she smiles which is often, her face lights up and she looks twenty again. We have fun together. We go out for lunch a lot, something we both enjoy doing. A few of the restaurants that we go to regularly, we're greeted with hugs and kisses.

Finally, she has nothing to worry about. I take care of all her finances, and pretty much make all of the decisions. Dr. Z has told me that if she lived alone, she wouldn't be doing nearly as well and I know this for a fact.

Many blessings


Silent Echo/Quiet Storm February 02, 2014

that she is doing so well is a tribute to your good care and love. take care,

pb reader February 03, 2014

I'll have to look into the MCT oil, Lulu.

lulu February 03, 2014

I buy the Now brand on Amazon, pb. Not easy to find in the city, but I didn't try very hard.

FishTacoLover February 05, 2014

I moved back to MI five years ago (from Atlanta) for the same reason, to take care of my mother. It is hard, irritating, wonderful, and strange to be living with her again. Being a caretaker is a tough job. Be kind to yourself.

lulu FishTacoLover ⋅ February 05, 2014

You're a wonderful daughter, moving back to take care of her :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.