New Year's Eve Survey in Just in Case

  • Dec. 31, 2017, 11:53 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I still need to catch up with some of you, and I will in the next few days. In the meantime, I thought I’d do a survey to end the year.

What was the single best thing that happened this past year? Ok, so the first question stumped me. Lots of small good things, but nothing major jumped out. How sad is that?

What was the single most challenging thing that happened? Realizing my parents are getting older. My aunt ( my mom’s sister) is the same age as my dad, and 5 years older than my mom. She hasn’t taken care of herself like they have, and she hasn’t stayed active, but her daughter is having to face the thought of putting her in a nursing home. I don’t want to have to face that decision with my parents. This getting older sucks.

What was an unexpected joy this past year? I pulled up to Bubba’s house a month or so ago and before I even got to the door I could hear Bella yelling, “Sissy’s here!!” over and over. That made my heart sing!

What was an unexpected obstacle? Changes in the team at work, more struggles with the technology facilitator part of my job, and my parents’ health issues.

Pick three words to describe this past year. Tough, short, and wild

What were the best books you read this year? Whew, I read so many. One that stands out was actually a children’s book, “Long Walk to Water”. It just opened my eyes to how different life is for those who live other places. (It was the story of children living in AFrica.)

With whom were your most valuable relationships? My group of friends, my coworker (4th grade coworker), and I spent a lot of time talking with Cbaby.

What was your biggest personal change from January to December of this past year? I got more cynical. I don’t like that. :(

In what way(s) did you grow emotionally? My former best friend is still part of my group of friends. I truly value the group’s friendship and they haven’t seen the side of her that I have. I made the decision that I can deal with her, because their friendship is valuable to me.

In what way(s) did you grow spiritually? I have a Teacher Devotional book that I read each morning. It has helped me start my days more peaceful.

In what way(s) did you grow physically? I failed at this one.

In what way(s) did you grow in your relationships with others? See the question above. I put my hurt feelings from M aside and focused on my friendships with K, D, and A.

What was the most enjoyable part of your work (both professionally and at home)? I have some great kids this school year.

What was the most challenging part of your work (both professionally and at home)? New curriculum, new team member, technology....

What was your single biggest time waster in your life this past year? I’m one of the older teachers at my school, and yet I know more about technology than most of the young teachers. Their laziness with technology has caused a lot of headaches for me.

What was the best way you used your time this past year? Oddly enough, I have the crazy Luna to thank. Grading papers with her around is a nightmare. She lays on the papers, chews on them, and attacks the pens while I write. That has led to me grading at school and not bringing that work home. So there’s less work going on at home.

What was biggest thing you learned this past year? You can’t make someone be what they’re not.

Create a phrase or statement that describes this past year for you. I’m stronger than I thought, but I’d love to not have to find out that again.


Deleted user January 01, 2018

Very interesting . Big hugs and Happy New Year !

Small Town Girl January 06, 2018

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.