Wrested From Quintessence in POETRY

Revised: 12/30/2017 3:19 p.m.

  • Dec. 29, 2017, 7:41 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’m seeing all these posts recently - surveys about 2017, the year summed up etc…

That’s not really my style and there’s no singular word to describe the level of Hell I have endured this year which is just the oozing puss from wounds carved open in 2016; now infected.

So here’s my year summed up. Enjoy the metaphors… or don’t, I don’t really care.

I have survived death; twice
Resurrected.

Yet I endure, not sure why, other than to advance the boundaries of suffering.

Illness stricken and injury riddled; my mental capacity is a whittled piece of wood.

Immortal black occurred in a tear-runnelled scream, and then silence, peace; it was like a dream.

Veritably - Heavenly.

Now that I’m dying and all light is grey
I feel my body rotting
My brain says: “Checkmate”.

I long to be with a love I lost to the skeletal hands of death, but a part of me resists the idea to dine with the Devil in defiance of asphyxiating breath.

Scrawny claws rape and rip at my intestine
While blood, mucous and feces even;
Permeates like venom
… … … This clostridium
… … And onerous
… Ulcerative
.Season

Treatable with insurance or financial freedom, but I have neither; just a liquidated life. Lost and sold off to pay for failure; I lay bedridden in the fetal position praying to a deaf entity.

Hand on flesh
Craving death
But it creeps ever slowly

  • A tease, oh tortuous me!

Wincing and squinting with every crippling contraction only exacerbates the herniated discs in my back. Upon mangled vertebrae; Atlas himself, whom supports the weight of the world, crumbles underneath my weakened infrastructure.

Unable to die, I await a fate designed in disguise
A miscreation am I

With as much strength to faintly hold onto a knife
I hover it metaphorically
Contemplating…

… These final days - of my life.

By: Jaye Eryk
Copyright ©2017


Last updated December 30, 2017


Shattered December 30, 2017

My heart aches for you... you deserve nothing but health and happiness.

Exhumed By Scrying Eyes Shattered ⋅ December 31, 2017

We should all have such things, I've never had either.

Leanne 🌈 December 30, 2017

((((((((HUGS)))))))))

Exhumed By Scrying Eyes Leanne 🌈 ⋅ December 31, 2017

... there... there... it's ok. Just a few rings above being verisimilitudinous

:)

Gilraent January 05, 2018

Damn. This is good.

I am very sorry though, that you have to deal with such things. I have held that knife many times myself.

Exhumed By Scrying Eyes Gilraent ⋅ January 07, 2018

Oh thank you, I appreciate the sentiments.

I know my poetry can be a tough read for some.

Yes, life is particularly tough when things happen from which you have no control over.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.