TS4: Cats & Dogs in The Sims

  • Dec. 23, 2017, 8:14 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I cannot believe how shitty TS4: Cats & Dogs is. The vet “career” (just an owned business, not an actual game career) is beyond disappointing. I created a character to specifically be a vet. It’s not fun running a clinic. Not controlling the animals is frustrating and makes them annoying. The clothes and objects are OK but certainly weren’t even worth the $20 I paid for it at half off.

I stopped playing the game because it’s upsetting that I waited two months to play and it was such a waste of time. All that excitement over something I should have KNOWN would be disappointing because TS4 is SUCH a wastered down Sims game and really is the worst of the bunch. It kind of makes me want to throw it in the trash and go back to The Sims or The Sims 3.

I will admit that I like being able to create puppies in CAS and some of the animals are VERY cute (and some of them are scary, the GSD is just plain ugly). When the only good thing I can say is I like some of the pets and being able to make animals babies? That’s really not a good sign for my opinion of the game. All that said here are some of the photos I have taken so far.

PS: I downloaded a mod which gives me a bit of control over the animals. It’s not much since these pets are not even close to as fleshed out as they were in The Sims 3 or even The Sims 2.

My character named Kara Lovell. This is her originally when I downloaded her from Mod The Sims. I made quite a few tweaks to her appearance and personality. I have very little custom content in my game and using all the CC attached to that original Sim would have been insane, she is modded from head to bloody toe.

You can see her tattoos fully in her swimwear. I like the rest of her wardrobe too.

This is Kara's dog, Justice, when she was a puppy. She's an Alaskan Malamute.

Justice all grown up.

She loves her automatic feeder.

She also loves big hugs from Kara.

She even loves being bathed because it means attention from Kara.

Pets can now poop which is new. Just like Sims pets have always just gone pee. Adds a bit of unnecessary realism I guess. Now you can STEP in dog poop if you're not careful and it gives you a bad moodlet. I was very surprised when that happened to my Sim for the first time.

Sim dogs are just as pathetic when they poop as their real life counterparts. Their legs and butt shake with the effort it takes these pixels to poop.

Although pooping INSIDE concrete seems harder to me.

Since dogs can poop whenever (it's not attached to their bladder need) and however many times they want I had some fun with it. Yes, indeed, that is a line of shit piles.

A few shots from around Brindleton Bay. I will admit that I really like this new neighbourhood. It is very pretty and I like the characters in the town too. This still doesn't make up for how lack luster the rest of this expansion pack is though, believe me.

This is Kara's house. I would live in a house like this in a heartbeat. House description, "Tucked away between the expensive mansions of Cavalier Cove is this humble little black cottage. Nothing says “beach access” like living right on the beach! "

Living room with lots of new objects from the expansion.

Her kitchen. Nothing from the new pack here but I really liked how her kitchen turned out.

The aquarium that came in the pack. I like it a lot better than the previous ones released.

Each size animal gets their choice of ONE bed. There is ONE big bed and ONE small one. They want $40 for this EP and they can't be bothered to give us more design choices. I told you there is so much wrong with this damn pack. This is the ugly big bed. There are some other colour options but it still looks like a country throw rug. Yuck.

I will also admit that I like the addition of the Roomba (called a Robot Cleaner in game). It's adorable all on its own but I'm looking forward to seeing a cat riding it. I'm not playing a house with cats right now though so it'll have to wait to see that.

Brindleton Bay has seagulls and pigeons who wander around.

I dislike that TS4 team were so lazy they use the SAME brush from TS3. Why create a new game only to use the same mesh and skin as the older game? Seems stupid and pointless.

Saw this cutie named Rainbow wandering in the back alleys.

These cats look like they are worshiping someone or something.

This dirty smelly little guy was sprayed by a skunk and then he went to play in dirt.

Kara & Justice greeting after Kara gets home from work.

This isn't from the new EP but I thought it appropriate since it's cat themed.

That's it for now! Until next time, happy simming!


Last updated September 29, 2019


This entry only accepts private comments.

No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.