When the Thought Doesn't Count in Everything Else

  • Dec. 19, 2017, 11:43 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

“It’s the thought that counts” that is the old adage when it comes to gifts. But what happens when the thought doesn’t count? Yesterday a package was waiting at home for me from Amazon. I have two things arriving, so I figured this contained the socks I ordered. It wasn’t. It was a small bottle of nail polish. Nail polish I did not order. It was a gift from A, my supposed BFF/”sister”. I have not heard from her since I sent her son a birthday gift in early September. Actually before that because I never got an acknowledgement that she received the gift and never a thank you. There was a brief mention one day on Facebook but that shit does not count. I do not thank people for gifts via Facebook. A fucking thank you text is too much to send I guess.

The best part is she didn’t even bother to type in a personal message. Just left the generic one Amazon has. I have not sent a thank you message yet. Probably will just do it via email. I did send a gift today via amazon. I did include a personal message. It is just a game. I figure it to be a family gift. I am over all of it. I would be perfectly fine if she “unfriended” me on facebook. I didn’t respond to her last email because she never bothered to respond to any of mine over the last six months. the only time she texts or emails is when she has a problem she wants someone to solve. Also, all she ever talks about are her kids and I don’t want to hear about someone else’s kids all the fucking time. She also turns every conversation into something all about her!

I am so bah humbug right now. I am tired of the hype, the mad rush, the begging on social media. Just done with everything. One more week.

I am going to try really hard today to get two tests done. Then two more this week and I will still be behind, but at least I will know what to expect with these tests.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.