Wintersong in General

  • Dec. 18, 2017, 5:54 p.m.
  • |
  • Public


It’s late and morning’s in no hurry
But sleep won’t set me free
I lie awake and try to recall
How your body felt beside me
When silence gets too hard to handle
And the night too long
This is how I see you
In the snow on Christmas morning
Love and happiness surround you
As you throw your arms up to the sky
I keep this moment by and by
Oh I miss you now, my love
Merry Christmas, Merry Christmas
Merry Christmas, my love

Probably the most depressing yet beautiful Christmas songs ever. I don’t know the origin of the song, or its exact meaning. I first heard it while going through a divorce eleven years ago. Heartbroken.

The strangest thing is I don’t feel a thing for X2. You were right babe. Time and distance.

Now the song only reminds me of Audrey. How we would lay in bed and watch the snow fly.

Love-us interuptus I suppose. Of all the people I have ever had in my life, she is the one I miss the most. The kindest, sweetest person I have ever met.

I suppose that is why I can’t let go. She did what she had to do. She explained it all. She never betrayed me. And she ached as much as I did.

Our last conversation on my birthday in 2011 ended with us both sobbing on the phone.

Finally I asked her “Is this goodbye?” After a long two minutes she answered. “No. Perhaps a so long?” And my heart broke again.

She didn’t see a way out, and I couldn’t fault her for prioritizing her children.

She is the one that got away, in the vernacular. She is the one I was supposed to be with.

And she is the one I will always miss.

Forgive me for being pathetic.

Oh I miss you now, my love
Merry Christmas, Merry Christmas
Merry Christmas, my love


Last updated December 20, 2017


Deleted user December 18, 2017

I do not think you are pathetic. I think you are a good man. It is a beautiful song.

Pintador December 18, 2017

I never realized that she expressed that much regret. I always had the impression that she delivered her explanations somewhat matter of factly and without much emotion. Reading this leaves me feeling more sympathetic. I can see that she really did sacrifice it all for her kids.

Duke Pintador ⋅ December 18, 2017

I sat down to write about flying and me and the boys gallivanting about Portland and the cute waitress at the Bayou Kitchen and wandering the Maine Mall and Binge watching Glitch. Instead Evel (the Evil entity that lives in my iTunes) randoms up this tune as I start to write. Damn you Evel!

=bernard= December 19, 2017

Deleted user December 24, 2017

I loved Glitch !

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.