Cars and Crying in Ponderings of the Universe

  • Dec. 2, 2017, 8:32 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

As far as Saturdays at work go, today wasn’t so bad case-wise. Wasn’t completely overwhelmed, which is a rarity for Saturdays. I also have a case that’s may be an extra unusual type of an unusual diagnosis. I am looking forward to getting my lab results next week.

I did both start and end my day with crying technicians, though. That was weird. TG was fostering/providing hospice care to an old stray cat that had come in to us that was feline leukemia positive. He had been declining and she had texted me this morning asking if I could come in early to euthanize him. I was walking out the door when I got a text that he had passed on his own. When I walked into work, the first thing I see is her cradling his body and crying. She gave him a wonderful last few weeks.

Then, as I was nearly about to leave for the day, my boss had someone with day old puppies bringing them in for tail docking. V, our newest technician, was the only one there as we usually don’t do anything Saturday afternoons after the appointments for the day have ended. I stayed late and acted as second technician while my boss did the procedure. In the middle of the first one, I look over and she’s trying to hold back tears. I understand. I don’t like tail docking. It makes me sad and I hope to avoid doing it if possible. She’s a very sweet, sensitive young lady and I often forget that she’s my age instead of much younger because she has a certain innocence about her.

So, that was an emotional start and end to my work day.

In other fun news, it appears that Aaron’s car’s transmission is dead. Car’s old enough that it isn’t worth it to replace, especially as it has some other issues that could kill it at any time. Ugh. It looks like what we’ll end up doing is pay off what’s left of my mom’s car loan, take over that car, and she’ll buy a new one with a new loan. Yay new expenses for all! Blergh.


Jigger December 03, 2017

That was a thing I loved about my vet-boss: he flat refused to dock tails or crop ears, and none of his other vets would do it. There's no good reason.

I'm an Okking Fool Jigger ⋅ December 03, 2017

I know. It's ridiculous that tail docking and/or ear cropping is even still breed standard for some breeds. They aren't surgeries I will do. My boss's reasoning for doing them is that if someone wants it done badly enough, they will get it done, and maybe not by a veterinarian. I've seen some horribly butchered back yard ear crops in my day, so I can understand his reasoning, but that doesn't mean I agree it's an OK thing to do :(

TellTaleHeart December 05, 2017

It's so sweet to see a vet care so much about the animals they care for. When our dog Ivan died, the animal hospital sent us a condolence card, which I was so touched by. And yes, I know it seems obvious that a vet would care about their patients... but that doesn't mean it's always true!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.