OD: First and Last in theocean. - Welcome!

Revised: 06/04/2017 6:27 p.m.

  • June 25, 2014, 11 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Note: This is an old entry. I just found it hidden away in my Drafts. Memories!


When OpenDiary announced it’s closing, I thought that it was enough to maintain connections here, but with the end coming, I’m becoming more and more nostalgic. Here’s the first ever and the last ever entries from theocean. on OpenDiary.


The First Entry - Wednesday, September 16, 2009

”Starting Over”

Who am I?

That’s probably what you’ll want to know. This being a new blog and all.

Well, I don’t really know, exactly.

I’m Toni, raised in small town, Michigan. Everybody knows everybody. I enjoyed my drive to school along the winding road that twists and turns as it follows the river. Though, I’ve never been very keen on driving.

I graduated this spring. I watched as some of my closest friends prepared to leave. Hit a bigger town for college. Start a new life. You know, the whole College Experience.

Me? I’m a commuter student. Yeah: still living with mom. I’m okay with that though. Actually, it’s what I wanted. I like the luxaries. The familiarity of living at home. I like living in a small town.

Anyway, I’m studying on a full-ride at Wayne State University. Biomedical physics. Pre-med. Whoever said hard work pays off was right. Yeah, small town to Detroit.

I’m ready to step out of my shell and stop being the shy girl. I’m ready for the time of my life: New friends, college football games, and a good challenge.

I’m ready for a change. This is where I’ll document it.

Comment me. Who wouldn’t want to make friends along the way?


The Last Entry - Saturday, February 1, 2014

”Starting Over… Again”

It seems that I’m a bit late in posting the inevitable final entry here. I suppose others did it with haste because, honestly, who knows how much longer it will be possible. I actually wasn’t going to do this post at all, but the closer it gets to the end, the more it seems appropriate – necessary, even – to share some last words and feelings on the website which has hosted so many of my words and feelings throughout the years.

Wednesday, September 16, 2009, that’s when I decided that it was time to start over with this diary, this little corner of the web carved out for sharing my life. Prior to that entry, I had kept other diaries, originally starting on Teen Open Diary (does anybody else remember TOD or just me?), but theocean. is (was?) the longest running.

The more than four years on this website – this unreliable website that I’ve been clinging to for months now – have seen a lot of changes in my life. Into and out of college, into and out of relationships. You know, the transitions of life. I could say more, but I’m not going to. I’ve saved my diary in all of the formats possible and reconnected with friends on Prosebox. I’ve preserved what is important, and as for the details, the past is the past.

Time moves on (and on and on and on). That’s the nature of life, websites and all. January was all about fresh starts and the new year and now that it’s done, that’s what’s ringing in my mind. Time moves on, the new year moves forward, websites come and go.

And so, it seems that I’m starting over once again, the same person but not quite. Join me as I continue to navigate life after university. Because websites might come and go, but community? I’d like to preserve that.

PROSEBOX

Contact:

[REMOVED]

Toni


Last updated June 04, 2017


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.