all kinds of transition. in I am here, so far in name.

  • Feb. 1, 2014, 11:14 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

It feels strange to reintroduce myself. There is an impulse to overexplain, because here I am new, but I am not BRAND new. If you're here, and looking for a story, stories I have...more than you have time for, I suppose. If you're here, I guess odds are you're familiar already. I can just jump on in then, right?

I might whine a little it isn't OD, and I have cause. When you do anything at all for 14 years, you develop attachment to the ritual involved- especially with pleasurable activities. It is largely the ritual itself. I think a good many of us have stayed with OD because the ritual is so deeply gratifying that the written form itself has become at times a secondary outcome, a side effect, if you shall.

One can write anywhere but ritual takes time, and it is spiritually and emotionally draining to lose one. Not just a site or a format change. Nope. It is a hard change. If you are adverse to my transition, get back under the bridge. I am crossing.

In six months I got a job, promotion, raises which combined increased my base hourly wage by 30%. With the help of my two large, incredible older sons, I moved us into a bigger place just today, which is said to be a last step towards re-establishing custody of my two younger sons. The apartment is great. It has soft, new, deep brown carpet and a tub with which I will shortly become better acquainted. I have my own room and a door that locks and love and maybe a lay-cation in March with my heart's desire, a very good friend or a few. And spaghetti.

And I fucking love The Cure and I damned well miss Open Diary. Gimme a chance to get the rythmn. Shit changes too fast.

e3


CeruleanButterfly February 01, 2014

I was on OD for 12 years, I always said I wouldn't ever open another online journal...but the bottom line is, I need to get stuff out somewhere. So, here I am.

FairyTales February 02, 2014

Happy to hear the move is done!

Grandpa_of_Anarchy February 10, 2014

Congratulations!

Seem we are evolving in one fashion or another.

I too truly miss O.D.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.