November Rain in General

  • Nov. 22, 2017, 4:19 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Seems the sun never even came up today. Low ceiling, alternating from drizzle to pouring rain. The temperature hanging in the low 40s.

It is that time of year.

Tomorrow being Thanksgiving, I am up early to make the garlic mashed potatoes, then up the road to pick up the bean then on to my parents house. I will torture Mireya by singing “Over the river and through the woods…” while she yells at me to shut up.

Break break.

Five times.

Five times I have been scheduled to fly. Got up there once.

I haven’t been paying that much attention to aviation weather since I returned to Maine, so I don’t even know if this is a normal November. Seems like when the skies are clear, the wind is out of tolerance. Then when the winds are calm the ceiling is below even IFR minimums.

Going through the Fleet Replacement Squadron some twenty six years ago, I would spend the day at the squadron. Either flying, standing watch, or in the simulator. Depending on the schedule I might make it home for supper. Then I would turn around and head back to the squadron to start planning for the next day.

Whidbey Island, Washington is a beautiful part of the world. But as I once told someone on OD who was moving to Seattle “Be prepared. God turns out the sun in October and doesn’t turn it back on again until April.

Dreary isn’t even the word.

I’ve got garlic roasting, and the house smells wonderful. I must peel five pounds of potatoes before bedtime. In the morning the stand mixer gets it’s once a year workout.

Gratuitous, I know.
Julia Lescova. Because I like her ass.


Pintador November 22, 2017

You’re the annoying dad! Sounds like, in some ways, you and the bean have a typical father-daughter relationship 😀

KimmieD November 25, 2017

i think you should fly down here and go to lunch with me.

Duke KimmieD ⋅ November 25, 2017

Certainly! Once I get the Cirrus transition. I think it would take two days to fly down in the C-172!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.