A Week in 1982 and a Day with me in Grandma and me

  • Feb. 1, 2014, 9:41 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

 photo meabt1994_zps4945437e.jpg

Gma Mon Feb 1, 1982

A phone call this morning and I guess Monty come to live with us. David and us got him enrolled in school at Bethany. A water hose broke on his jeep about 27 miles south of town so went and got it. Went to grocery store. Jean called about noon.

Grandma Tue 2-2-1982

I defrosted the freezer this morning. Monty caught bus for first day in school. David was down and Pop helped him afternoon. Got my roan 2nd calf cow in and unloaded wood.

Grandma Wed 2-3-1982

2 below and a cold wind. Went to Ridgeway and got some of our meat and paid processing on ours and Jeans. Got cow in after Monty got home.

Grandma Thur 2-4-1982

10 below and pretty cloudy. Randy and his girl come and got Davids wood. Had a flat tire and had to borrow Old Blue. David made us some chocolate chip cookies. Real cood.

Grandma Fri 2-5-1982

Randy got old Blue home. David helped us bring my roan cow back home. We went to grocery store and bank then right back home.

Grandma Sat 2-6-1982

12 below but sunny. Pop, Monty and David went to Ridgeway and got Jeans beef. Charles, Pop and I took it down to her. We all ate dinner at the Western Sizzler steak house. Real good. Got home about 6. Boys had chores done.

Grandma Sun 2-7-1982

About 4 above. Butch was down and split our load of wood. Kept Tina while Chuck and Doris went to a funeral. They stopped back by a while. Not much else going on. Monty stayed home.

 photo figaro1988_zps235f0c1d.jpg

Me Sat 2-1-2014

I’m still having problems with noters not understanding that the above entries were written by Grandma decades ago. So for the month of February I thought I would try something different. Im going to post a whole weeks worth of a years entries at once. Hopefully that will be clearer to the reader and the reader can also get more of a picture of what was going on at that time. I’ll do the same with my 2004 diary. Now that I’ve saved my diary to a text file I’m debating whether or not I should include the notes when I post.

To continue my thought from yesterday. My favorite part of volunteering at Petsmart is working with the shy cats and kittens. Trying to figure out what is going to bring them out of the shell. Sometimes no matter what I do it doesnt work but sometimes I have success.

Dull day here. I worked until noon and then went and picked up Boy. They had to extract six teeth so the bill was higher than expected. 200 bucks for my second to least favorite cat. Hopefully this will cure his problems with eating being painful for him. He ate more of his can of Fancy Feast than he had been. Doctor Mauck said he might have to have some teeth on the other side removed too. After that I went to the library and home for lunch. I stayed home too long reading a good book, No Ordinary Grace so I didn't get to the gym until 330.

Good Things I did for me

Ran 6 miles in 83 minutes. Ive got to get my time down. At this pace the ten miles I’m supposed to do at the end of the month will take me 2 and ½ hours.

Stayed in calorie range

Gratitudes

Podcasts to keep me company while I run.

 photo gpa1990_zpsebc6a3e8.jpg


eolhsand February 01, 2014

I love what you're doing! There's this great anthology of diarists called The Assassin's Cloak (no idea why they chose that title), which goes through every day of the year with six or seven diary entries from that day written by diarists. Some of them were famous, some were completely unknown. The only thing they had in common was the day on which the wrote. What you're doing reminded me of it. Yours feels even better, though, because of your relationship with the other diarist. It's wonderful.

Deleted user February 01, 2014

kitty cat! 2/1982 i was just beginning to cook or bake or whatevr in a womby oven

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.