Good Morning in Muddling Through As Best I Can

  • Nov. 17, 2017, 3:16 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Trying to post more often than I have been. I could claim a busy schedule, but we all know that’s usually only an excuse, lol.
Things have been going well here. Brian passed his telecommunications certification and will be back to work. It was truly a family effort. His dyslexia is pretty severe, and that coupled with a bit of test anxiety made studying and testing a herculean effort for him. Brandon, Kelly and I worked with him and quizzed him verbally so that when it came time for his final attempt, he aced it. Very proud of him for sticking it out.
Just started dating someone again after staying home for the last three years. She’s nice, and we seem to be getting along well. I mentioned the other day that I wanted to lose a few pounds, and she cooked my meals for an entire week and then invited me over to suprise me with meals made and already packed in tupperware dishes. Wow, not sure if I should make a run for it now, or lock her into marriage immediately. I was very suprised and touched that she would go to all that trouble for me. It’s early on, so we’ll see what happens in the coming weeks and months. The food was very good by the way!
Trying to help plan a get together for stepdaughter Jessica. Her family and that of her fiance are to meet at my son’s house to formally announce their engagement to both families. The groom’s family is apparently well-to-do, and Jessica’s mother and their family is…um…not. They are, for the most part, either recovering or active addicts. Jessica was not raised by her mother and has led a much different life; she’s extremely worried at how her prospective in laws will view her family. I’m sure it will all be fine, but pre-wedding jitters seem to be setting in very early for her. Brandon and I are doing our best to allay her worries. I do howver have to locate a kosher market somewhere in Houston. Her new family is jewish, and we are not familiar with all the customs surrounding the meal. Unfortunately, neither are our local caterers. I’m going to consider this a challenge and a learning experience.
In March, I have Brian’s wedding, so we have to get started on that. Yes, two of my children decided to get married at the same time. Go Dad. I’m going to figure it out though, lol. In the meantime, can someone help me figure out a gofundme page for aging single Dads? Just kidding.
Anyway, I hope you all enjoy your upcoming weekends. Take care now.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.