Thoughts On...2017 Primetime - Fall Edition in Thoughts On...

  • Nov. 14, 2017, 4:51 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I usually have a few posts in by now with the new television season, but to be completely honest, I am just not feeling it that much this time around. Perhaps it is a binge-hangover from the summer.

GREY’S ANATOMY
I like the lighter feel of this season. I absolutely hated Owen’s sister. She was annoying as fuck. The recast was not a good match. I didn’t feel any chemistry between her and Owen, his mother or her fiance. She came across as loud and obnoxious and fake. Then we had Amelia’s tumor. I really can’t believe they went there. Was it not enough when her child had no brain on Private Practice? But now you give her a brain tumor? How annoying is it when she says things like “I get it, you married a tumor.” No, he married a spastic alcoholic/cokehead who had a brain tumor! The 300th episode was pretty damn good though. I got a little choked up at the end with Mer’s mom in the gallery.

SCANDAL
I can’t even with this show. It should have ended in season five. Last season made zero sense and this season seems to be a testing ground for how much of an uber bitch Olivia can be. I actually like Rowan more than her at this point. Plus the entire B613, Mellie falling in love with some other country’s president, him getting blown up…it is a giant soap opera that is nauseating.

HOW TO GET AWAY WITH MURDER
I hate that I ever started watching this show. And I hate that I can’t quit it. My first thought of the season was “Why would any firm looking to hire these people on as interns/lawyers would give credence to a reference letter from Annalise?” The woman was in prison for murder, put on suspension by the Bar, in recovery/treatment, had numerous questionable tactics. Really, who would want to offer that as their refernce for a job? Plus aren’t all of them at the bottom on the class standings? That’s like being Leo Getz from Lethal Weapon. Literally chasing an ambulance down the street to get a client. And now Frank is going to become a lawyer? He wants to be there for Laurel and Wait-List Jr. How? It’s going to take some time and a whole lot of money to get through law school and then become a lawyer. It is going to be years before he starts making bank to raise a family! Someone didn’t think this through. And did he even get an undergrad degree? I thought they recast Connor at first. I am not digging the buzz cut and if he was going to cut anything, it should be Oliver. That guy is annoying and it pisses me off that he shares my later dog’s name. My dog was stronger than this wet noodle. Asher. He should be flipping burgers at this point. He has no internship, was cut off financially from his family, so how is he making Mikayla’s rent? How are most of them making rent? I know Laurel has money and Connor’s gay dads apparently support him, but the others have zero dollars. Does this series just end with a mass Chung Chung Law & Order sound effect?

WILL & GRACE
The only bright spot on my watch list this year. I binged all the season a week prior to the premiere and then became depressed and lost when I had no more Will & Grace to watch on a daily basis. Loving all the little digs & throwbacks. Can’t wait for more episodes.

MAJOR CRIMES
Only two episodes in (as of this writing) and I am hating the direction they are going. The writing is on the wall, Sharon has some sort of illness. It is not the lingering effects of the flu. It pisses me off that this is the direction they are going in the final season. She gets engaged, makes commander and now this? Fuck off writers. That is a bullshit tactic to throw drama in a show that doesn’t need a lot more drama than the cases they solve. It is a soap opera tactic; just as someone is happy and successful, you fuck with them. Also, not a fan of bringing in a new character to the mix in the form of Cammie. She is too unrealistic for me. I hate when they do that. I am also not happy with Nolan. I didn’t like him in season five-b and I don’t like him now. It feels like personalities have changed as well. I noticed that with Sykes. It’s almost like since the guy they wanted got Chief, they can do whatever the hell they want and say whatever they want. I am just not feeling it. These longer arc storylines are great once a season, but this whole season is shaping up to be this way. It takes away from the aha moment of who did it. I already can’t remember who is who and who is which kid’s parents. I don’t know why FBI came in…too much going on to really get a story in. Also, what is up with Rusty running Sharon’s schedule? Mom, time to go to the doctor. The kids is in college and an intern for the DA. His mom is a fucking police commander. I would think she could get to the doctor on her own. And bringing her lunch but nothing for his soon to be adopted-step-father or anyone else who has saved his ass on numerous occasions and bitching because they put mustard on his hamburger “without asking”. Dick much?

The other shows I watch I am behind on. I did give up CHICAGO FIRE this season because I just can’t go through the same season again. And every season is the same: Boden is in trouble/being framed (multiple times a season); Severide is in love, breaks up, drinks, gets in trouble, but not really, Dawsey is happy, there is turmoil, they get happy; Hermann has some stupid idea, something crazy happens, it all works out. I am all for recycling, but not on my television shows and not doing the same stuff just in a different order each season!


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.