Tubthumping in General

  • Nov. 13, 2017, 9:32 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

In June of 1999 I filed for divorce. And went on cruise.

I suppose you could call it a transitional phase of my life. It was only 6 months.

Most of the staff was at Danny’s Palm Bar on Coronado in Sand Diego. We were upstairs, playing pool.

I suck at pool. This gorgeous blonde sidled up by me, and we were partners. She was much better at pool than I was.

The women I attract. I am half way through my life and to this day I have no idea how this works. The ones I want I can’t seem to keep, and the one I am not interested in I can’t seem to get rid of. Story of my life.

Chrystal. Actually I don’t know how her name was spelled. Been a while.

I got her number. But she had to go, and we were some of the last at Danny’s. Great Carne Asada by the way.

Down at the bar there were a group of guys who were acting all pissy about the jukebox. I must confess it was ridiculously loud.

On the way out the door I put ten dollars in quarters, and programmed “Tubthumping” in over and over. Then we left.

My favorite bartender at Danny’s was a late 80s Penthouse pet. I wonder if she has forgiven me yet.

Haze grey and underway the next day.


Last updated January 10, 2018


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.