Picking Up the Pieces in Wondering Woman

  • Nov. 12, 2017, 6:39 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

There are no shortcuts in life. This is a lesson that I always fail to take my own advice on. Particularly, as I wrote about before, my struggle with sobriety.

Addiction, no matter which drug, eventually leads to the same dark and lonely place. To me it’s like taking a rock and smashing a mirror. All the pieces are scattered around you and you have no idea where to even start picking up the pieces; let alone put them back together. It all feels hopeless.

That’s where I’m at right now. I just want to put my face in my hands and cry. I know what I need to do, but right now I’m just so frustrated. I’m tired of being sick, I’m tired of withdrawing, I’m tired of pushing everyone away, and most of all tired of losing myself.

There is no simple solution to feeling good in life. It takes a lot of work. The further down the rabbit hole you go, the harder it is to get out. The fact I’m still alive means I have another chance. I’m not about to give up.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.