What's for Dinner? 11/12-11/18 in A Week of Dinners

  • Nov. 12, 2017, 10:32 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Sunday
Venison fajitas with butternut squash and corn on the cob

Monday
Venison and bean hearty soup w/ bread - Obviously subbing the beef for venison (I got enough stuff to double the recipe so I can freeze half)

Tuesday
Egg Roll in a bowl with Rice (This was moved around from last week)

Wednesday
Chicken Tacos with Peppers and Onions (Using Pioneer Woman’s chicken taco recipe , so this will end up being 3-4 dinners worth)

Thursday
Steak with dinner rolls and sweet potatoes (This is Dakota’s early birthday dinner request. He will be gone on his actual birthday and then Bobby will be gone the day after until Thanksgiving, so we decided to do it early)

Friday
Steak Fajitas using leftover steak

Saturday
Fried Fish with fries and a vegetable.

Using this as my NoJoMo today because I don’t really have anything else to write about…

We have done SO WELL on our grocery bill so far this month. Which is good, because Thanksgiving and all that involves. I’ve only used half the budget and I stopped separating food/non food so that’s everything. Obviously the deer helped, and tapping into our freezer more definitely helps. So doubling some freezable meals is definitely starting to pay off. Now I just need to make sure I keep it up and don’t slack.

Grocery shopping at Wal-Mart seems to be helping too. I think their meat is much cheaper and I haven’t really seen much of a quality difference, honestly. Aldi’s is most definitely helping. I love going there and I only wish they had more meat options. I still go to Dillon’s (Kroger) occasionally for the smaller trips since it’s right next to therapy.

Keep posting your meal plan/ recipes! Feel free to join in, too!


Steph November 13, 2017

I suck at meal planning, prepping and everything in-between. Sounds like you have it down. I need to do freezer meals too. Some day I'll get it together

Hillbilly Princess November 13, 2017

Deleted user November 13, 2017

When I started using Aldi’s I noticed a big drop in my grocery bill. I only buy at Walmart what I can not get at Aldi’s . I also shop at Rulers ( Kroger but like an Aldi’s) and they have great meat ( better than Walmart or Aldi ) except skip their pepperoni if you buy that . Rulers has better chips than Aldi. Neither have good crackers or dip in my opinion , so those and fresh produce I get at Walmart . I buy a lot of cleaning supplies at Dollar General and that saves a lot of money , but detergent I get at Walmart ; also paper products .

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.