just started in book reviews

  • Feb. 1, 2014, 4:54 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

A few years ago, I vowed to complete ALL of the Oz books. We know the movie, but there is SO much more.

I was collecting them one by one - I belong to various book exchange sites (bookmooch.com and paperbackswap.com) on the Internet and when the books became available I got a few of them.

Once I got my kindle, I was able to download the books I didn't already have, so this project will be partially paper, partially electronic reading.

I FINALLY started reading the first book in the series. It was written over 100 years ago! Basically it's a hero's quest. I knew that from the movie, but it seems to be clearer in the book.

The trio is finally together - Dorothy, the scarecrow and the tin man. Now... we're off to see the wizard. Having seen the movie so MANY times, it's hard NOT to have the visuals (and the music) in my head.

I just finished the autobiography of Ruth Gordon - boy does she drop NAMES. Lots of details, many photos. The theater life of the early to mid 20th Century in NYC. Fascinating. I have to figure out which paper book I am going to start next - I have STACKS of them waiting...


Ragdolls February 01, 2014

If I had my choice between fiction & a biography, I will pick the biography every time. When I saw the name Ruth Gordon I thought of Rosemary's Baby.

Darcy0207 from OD Ragdolls ⋅ February 02, 2014

Would you be interested in the book? I try NOT to keep most books. I participate in various book exchange sites to make sure the books get a new home.

Silent Echo/Quiet Storm February 01, 2014

i have so many books. just hope i have the time to read them all before i go to the great library in the sky. take care,

Darcy0207 from OD Silent Echo/Quiet Storm ⋅ February 02, 2014

I'm with you on that one!!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.