November-SLOW DOWN!! in Day to day life from a woman that turned 60 in Oct 2014 and who lives on a farm and Retired on January 2, 2016. I plan to do more sewing, work outside in the yard and just enjoy my retirement.

  • Nov. 9, 2017, 9:19 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Here it is the 9th already. Good grief!
I sent my yearly invite to family for Thanksgiving Dinner. I’ve not heard from brother nor one step niece yet but I suspect neither will be here. BUT I really need to know as it determine how much food will be prepared. Or brought. Whatever. Same thing every year I suppose but it would be nice to know before the week OF Thanksgiving. All the others responded the day I sent it or at least within 2 days which is very helpful. This will be the year of less than 20 and if niece and her family do not come and brother and all his family do not come that will set the partakers of 9 or 10. If they do all come it will double the partakers, so yes, I’d really like to know.

I’ll send my brother a text next week if I don’t hear from them before and hopefully my sister can contact my niece by phone to find out if they are coming to the area this year. The niece and her husband are like nomads so I’m not sure where they are even living. Colorado, California, or maybe just on the road traveling. Wouldn’t that be nice? Well, maybe for a while but I like my home and my chair. lol

Worked most all day yesterday in my garage. Even though I won’t be using it for guests this Thanksgiving I decided to clean it like I was going to put tables and chairs in it for something or another. I really really needed to clean and organize and I’ve been working on it a day here and there for awhile now. Yesterday was productive and I also used the time in the garage to make another set of crate shelves on the other side of the garage, put another small peg board up (which climbing the ladder about killed my knees) and rearranged the pegs on the main and bigger peg board. It is amazing just how many tools, wrenches, screwdrivers, and various other things I have out there. At least everything is neater and gives the garage more room. Oh and it is cleaner too. I have a lot of lumber old and new that I keep out there and I did saw some pieces out of old barn wood to make more signs when I get time. I really need to get more stuff on my FB store, but I’ve not been motivated lately with crafting. AND I defeat myself by getting to many projects zipping along in my head that I overwhelm myself. How’s that for self-defeating? I’m a pro at that these days and I need to get a grip and focus on ONE project. I hope I can do it soon cause the holidays are breathing down my neck.

Speaking of holidays. I put a PS4 on layaway for J last week. I didn’t want to but his beloved WWE will no longer come out for his PS3. The worst thing is, his PS3 games will not work on the PS4 and vice versa. What a racket!! He will get two games for his PS4 at Christmas from myself and Santa (yes, my 30 yr old Down Syndrome son still believes in Santa) and I’m fine with that. I ordered and have tucked away CDs of the Backstreet Boys and Nsync for him for Christmas and am saving a couple back for his b’day in January. Whew!! What I’ve gotten him is really everything he’s asked for so he should have a very good Christmas and birthday. Actually he didn’t ask for the PS4, but in order to get him the WWE 2018 it had to happen.

Dad is still confused and has a very hard time remembering how to use his Jitterbug phone. He’ll call me or I’ll call him and most of the time, at least on the 1st and sometimes 2d tries he can’t remember to push the speaker button so he can’t hear. There is a lot of very loud “Hello, can you hear me” from my end and I swear if I had neighbors they’d turn me in for disturbing the peace. Thankfully I do not have neighbors so I just sound a bit daft when he calls.

Dishes are in the sink waiting for me so I suppose I’ll get them done and out of the way. I did a lot of laundry yesterday while working in the garage and I folded and put away before I went to bed.

I’m not able to get into OD right now and for whatever reason it will not accept my password. There have been several emails back and forth and I finally got back to the actual log in page where this morning it didn’t accept my password. Is it me? Maybe but I never had that problem with other testing sites. Just sayin. AND I write my passwords down so I don’t forget them so I know that its correct. *sigh I wonder if there will be these kinds of problems when it goes live? Whether or not, I’ll be here. Your stuck with me here even if I am not dependable on writing or leaving comments. I did read diaries for awhile last night as I was too tired to do anything else. That was a good thing but I’m still behind and I didn’t leave a comment on every entry I read. I was trying very hard to get caught up but I still have more to read.

You know, when I was working I was better at writing in my diary and reading and keeping up. What went wrong once I retired? It shouldn’t be so hard to find time to get here. It just shouldn’t!!

Take care and God Bless


FormerlyMe November 09, 2017

cardslinger November 09, 2017

I think people are very busy when they retire so maybe you don't have as much time!
I think I'll buy #4 some remotes for his brand new PS4. He used his own money and birthday money to buy one last month so when #2 moves out lter this year they can play online togther. I might get games if he picks any out.

ConnieK November 09, 2017

Hey! We believe in Santa, too! You get more presents that way. :) I don't know anything about the new OD so can't help you. I wish I could retire from cooking the Thanksgiving turkey!

crystal butterfly November 10, 2017

I stay so busy now I have no idea how I had time to go to work. I haven't started Christmas shopping yet. You are doing great.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.