Which destination to chose.. in My dreams

  • Feb. 1, 2014, 2:45 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Before I went into hospital my son asked me to think of a future holiday destination. A place, a country, he and I would visit after my recovery. I knew it was a way of securing the fact, that there was indeed a life after my surgery.

He was so scared of things going wrong. No wonder he had gone through a lot already. If you think to lose your mum when you are 33 it must feel threatening. He takes after me. We are both a bit adventurous, walking the rough trails in the woods instead of the well kept ones. Also like the same sort of books. Fantasy! When he expected me to be cured the misery started all over again and looked worse. No chance for recovery. After two years there suddenly was a possibility. AND a price to pay. He thought it too big and talked about searching for other less invading ways. Only, when I strongly assured him that this was what I wanted, he accepted reluctantly.

When husband, son and girlfriend left me that evening, the day before my surgery, he came back, crying, scared.... You will think of something really special, do you! I smiled, of course and we will go together.

During the week after surgery I had plenty of time. Lying on my back, knees sideways, the only thing I could do was dream to escape from the pain and the discomfortable possition. Not Belgium, France or Germany. Not England, though I liked Wales. Not even Ireland, my top favourite destination. Not an European country, Asia maybe. Son lived in India for a year.. No I did not think that a good idea. Being disabled now, neither Tibet nor Buthan seemed right anymore. Husband and I went to Turkey once, I liked it there but it was very touristic. Australia, New Zealand, also countries with a Western civilisation. Africa, I did not think of Africa. "Ping", a lightbulb. What about Maroc? Not too far away, a completely different culture and on top I knew an address where to stay. Bingo!


Deleted user February 01, 2014

What a wonderful choice! I hope you'll let us share some of the preparation, via your diary, as well as what your holiday is like!

Fishermanswife Deleted user ⋅ February 02, 2014

It is still only a dream Balansert. I'm not sure yet if I dare to make that move. Today I made another small step: traveling by train. With this pace it will take some time before I fly. ;-(

Deleted user February 02, 2014

RYN: You are wise to take only as many steps as you can manage for now. Dreams are just dreams - we can change them if we want to or need to. But they are good to have, I think. You have come a long way!

crystal butterfly February 06, 2014

My parents were in Morocco way, way back. Dad had won a trip to Spain and they got to spend part of a day there. I was going to say I've never been out of the US, but I have been to Mexico City and surrounding area and a night in Canada when I was in high school.

Plans for the future do help keep us going.

It is way below freezing here today. Saturday I think it is supposed to be above and then another drop in temps.

Deleted user March 24, 2014

What a lovely thought for your son to have. I am sure you will reach your dream in time, and then plan another...

bill_gardner June 02, 2014

Hi: I only found this entry now. Hope you do get to Maroc. We have been to Casablanca, and it is interesting. We are huge fans of the movie Casablanca, so went to a restaurant/ bar called Rick's Place, set-up to be exactly like the scenes from the movie. Happy dreams and even happier travels. Bill

Tick Tock Tick October 05, 2015

What an interesting entry. A busy mind cures a lot of ills! I haven't been writing much on PB but I am visiting you today because a friend here in Iowa is scheduled for debulking surgery on Friday but still isn't certain she wants to go through with it.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.