The Wings that Fly Us Home in General

  • Nov. 4, 2017, 9:53 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

There are many ways of being in the circle we call life.
A wise man seeks an answer, burns his candle through the night.
Is a jewel just a pebble that found a way to shine?
Is a hero’s blood more righteous than a hobo’s sip of wine?

First flight in 14 years. To say I was rusty would be a profound understatement. I am corroded solid. Procedurally everything was still there, and I was amazed how little there was to the external preflight of a Cessna 172. The external preflight in the EA-6B was an order of magnitude more complex. And yet daily I did it as if it were no big deal.

I guess any profession is like that. There are things that you just do, automatically.

I found myself over controlling everything from nose wheel steering to VSI.

The skyhawk rotates at 55. I went full throttle, and this in an aircraft with two big guys in it, I was at 60 knots before I knew what happened. Apparently 180HP works quite well with a 2000 pound plane. It leapt off the runway like a dog off its leash.

We climbed straight out, heading for 3000AGL. Things I was uncomfortable with were a) The instruments. Standard small aircraft instruments, but nothing like anything I had seen in 30 years. b) The instructor, Erik - who I might as well name now because I am likely to be referencing him quite a lot over the next few months - kept doing all the co-pilot duties, answering the radio messing with the comm-nav panel. All the shit I should be doing as the pilot.

Dad calmed me down. He’s letting you get a feel for the aircraft without the errata.

For a lot of the flight I was frustrated. I didn’t know where I was. Erik was telling me which way to turn, what altitude to be at. He was talking to Portland approach and I could barely hear what he was saying through the crappy loaner headset I was wearing. My altitude control was pretty good, but I’ve always been a slave to trim. snort

He pointed me toward the coast, we looped around the distribution center at LL Bean in Freeport and headed toward the massive 8000’ runway a mile from my apartment. Crossing over the field he had me drop down to pattern altitude and we joined the downwind. The C-172 is a high wing aircraft and I was again uncomfortable because in a right turn I had no visual reference to the ground - the wing was blocking it. In a prowler we were well forward of the wing and had ground reference in almost every situation.

He had me roll out and I saw a familiar sight picture. It is going to take a while for me to get used to how slow everything seems to work.

He took over for the first touch and go, talking me through a different kind of aviation. I had it for the full stop.

And.

I was over controlling all the way in, but at least the landing wasn’t a ugly a some of the flight.

Tomorrow is slow flight and steep angle turns. God I hope the monkey skills start coming back. Up at 530AM to review procedures and start writing a list of question.

I am paying for this at this point!

And the spirit fills the darkness of the heavens.
It fills the endless yearning of the soul.
It lives within a star too far to dream of.
It lives within each part and is the whole:
It’s the fire and the wings that fly us home.


Deleted user November 04, 2017

Yes! You are back in the sky !

Telstar November 04, 2017

Sounds like a Continential Express flight I flew on from Houston to Shreveport in 2009.

gattaca November 05, 2017

You're at home up there. It'll come back.

TruNorth November 05, 2017

Sounds exciting!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.