Sa ta na ma *edit in Hello.

  • Nov. 2, 2017, 4:38 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Meditation class was really good actually! I was the only person there, but she explained it was the first one and she hadn’t really advertised it that well. It took me all my will power not to flee while she was outside waiting, but I remembered why I was there: to learn techniques to try and control my anxiety.
We did a couple of writing exercises, one to get rid of negativity and one to make us realise what makes us grateful. We also did a breathing exercise and two different kinds of meditation.
One form of meditation, mindfulness, I was familiar with, it was one I’d tried in the run up to my driving test! At the start of the class she asked if I’d meditated before and I said I didn’t know because I genuinely didn’t know, I’d just read it and tried it. Turns out I have meditated on several occasions.
The other type was kirtan kriva, meditation with a mantra. She was telling me all this stuff about what the different sounds mean and represent and I was thinking how it sounded like bollocks. But honestly, once we both got the mantra going (plus touching each of the fingertips in rhythm), I could feel myself totally relaxing and getting into it.
I left the class feeling totally relaxed and I’d definitely go back again, even if I am the only one there. I felt like I was at the doctor’s or something.
Don’t worry, I’m not going to start wittering about crystals or vibrating universes or chakras, I don’t believe in that. I really am learning to do this to help myself be calm.

Edit: I slept like a log last night!


Last updated November 03, 2017


Bomb Shell November 03, 2017

I'm glad you enjoyed it :o) Meditation is completely different to crystals and things, there are scientific and biological reasons why it works.

Babe In Toyland Bomb Shell ⋅ November 03, 2017

Yeah I know, but she did say something about chakras and I inwardly rolled my eyes!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.