Colder is arriving tonight in Day to day life from a woman that turned 60 in Oct 2014 and who lives on a farm and Retired on January 2, 2016. I plan to do more sewing, work outside in the yard and just enjoy my retirement.

  • Oct. 26, 2017, 5:49 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Today is supposed to be really warm. Tonight however, the serious cold front arrives with freeze warnings on every local weather report. Oh joy. The high tomorrow they say will be low 40s. Again, Oh joy.

Dad is back in the hospital and I’m sick. Really sick as in sick to my stomach, pounding headache, and just to make things interesting, I spontaneously gag and and heave. With all of these lovely things going on with my body, I dare not head to the hospital. Sister “said” she was going up last night but she didn’t. The hospital called me at 11 or 1130 last night asking what they should do to get the stuff down him to do a colonoscopy and another test to see if they can determine why he is losing blood. I’m ashamed to say that I was sick and out of it when they called I told them to call my brother. I was in no condition or frame of mind to tell anyone anything as at that moment, I didn’t care about anything else except not to start heaving. When I called the hospital this morning to see where they had moved him to once they admitted him, I talked to his nurse and she said brother had talked to dad but dad couldn’t hear him but as of this morning dad was still refusing to drink the stuff. The option as I understand it is to stick a tube through his mouth or nose and force it. I am not giving a yay or nay on that one.

I can’t believe there is no other way to determine where the bleeding is coming from. Just Tuesday the head RN at the nursing home said it was from his internal hemorrhoids or the diverticulosis. Guess not?

Brother and I are opposites with hospital staff. I’m more apt to believe what they tell me and he never believes them. Maybe that is why I’m sick in that Dad needs a more doubting child to make decisions about his care. I sure hope so as he was mad when they called him to get his permission to transfer dad 100 miles away for a blood transfusion. That’ll teach um. Dad has made if very clear to both myself and brother that he does NOT want to go back to the VA Hosp in Columbia so we will do our best to not let that happen. It may end up that he is transferred to St Louis but it won’t be Columbia. *sigh

Thankfully Dude, Dudette and I picked up the processed and packaged beef yesterday before I got so sick. I kinda split it with them but they got all the steaks and roasts and I kept more of the ground beef. A roast is a waste of time for me as J will not eat it. I did keep a couple of packages of T-bone and Rib steak. Sometimes I just want a steak.

We went our separate ways and I got all the meat put in the freezer. It was about 2 hrs afterward that my head started throbbing and I just thought it was because I hadn’t eaten lunch. I “think” it is sinus and if not better tomorrow I’ll see the doc when I take J back up for another A1C test.

I am praying that Dad’s blood count has improved since they gave him blood overnight and he’s on the upswing of getting better when he has his tests. I know J is doing better on his A1C readings as I have checking his sugar levels routinely and they have improved greatly.

I made cauliflower pizza crust to make a pizza the other night and it was really good. He likes the zucchini french fries, but refuses to eat anymore veggie tater tots and he is right. They are nasty. Portion control and carb monitoring has become a way of life for us now. It’s amazing that most of the “light” type of frozen dinners are just full of carbs. I just knew they would be the answer to fixing his lunch to take to work but that didn’t work out at all. Peanut butter and jelly sandwiches are sometimes what he takes and there is a Kids chicken nugget frozen snack that he also takes for lunch. He and I are getting better and faster at putting all his leg compression stuff on both legs in the early morning and we’ve cut that time down to about 7 minutes. Yay! It was taking about 20 min.

I need to get up and take care of some stuff so will end this.

Take care and God Bless


Last updated October 26, 2017


cardslinger October 26, 2017

Hugs and prayers for you and your dad and siblings too! Such a difficult time.
I would love to fill a freezer with local meat but RJ doesn't see the benefit so we don't. We did half a pig one year but RJ didn't see a savings on the grocery bill do doesn't think it's worth it. :(

crystal butterfly October 26, 2017

I would love to have a freezer full of beef like what you got. I hope that you are feeling better soon.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.