Last Day Off in Muddling Through As Best I Can

  • Oct. 25, 2017, 7:51 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

As usual, my days off flew by with less accomplished than I hoped. Today is my last of them and there’s laundry, yardwork and grocery shopping on the list, beginning shortly.
Yesterday started out wrong. I had a blow out, and had to walk three miles home to get help. No phone to call for help, grandson Grant decided the day before that it was flushable.
Ended up buying two new tires, THEN went immediately to purchase a new phone.
Came home from all that, and the baby was on the front porch. She got excited as I exited my car and nosedived off the porch onto the brick border around my flower bed. She split her lip a little and I think she’s going to have a black eye by this morning. Other than being very justifiable perturbed, she was fine fifteen minutes later. Her mother had been standing just inside the door and couldn’t get to her before she fell. Massive guilt, she cried more than the baby did.
Harmony will be walking soon, so Mommy has no idea the bumps and bruises ahead as she learns to navigate bipedally, but I’ll help her out. I’m thinking a full body padded suit and helmet. She’s pretty adventurous already.
The day went up from there, and we had a very decent evening.
I’ve cleaned the firepit out already this morning so we can have a small fire outside this evening. The fall weather is finally here and I actually had to wear a sweater this morning. Texas winters are fickle. It may be 80 degrees by lunch, but right now we’re in the low 40’s.
The leaves have just started to turn, so it’s looking more like true fall weather. I love this time of year, things seem to slow down a little, and with the holidays approaching, everyone is more focused on their families.
I’m taking Elizabeth and the baby to a local pumpkin patch today to get our jack O lantern. With the cooler weather it will last now. Usually, it only takes a few days for the heat and humidity to turn a pumpkin into a mouldy mess, lol.
I hope you all have a wonderful week. I’m off to market now to stock supplies for the week. Ciao


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.