OctoPhoMo Day: 24 Career OR Sport in General Mental Anesthesia

  • Oct. 25, 2017, 2:51 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Before I get into OctoPhoMo…

So, I’m on Prednisone and have been for a long time, 13 months at this point. 40mg/day and as high as 250mg/day when hospitalized. I’m desperately trying to get off of it as it’s killing and hurting me in so many ways and yet it’s the sole reason I continue to draw breath.

Once I can afford this: NO MORE PREDNISONE!!! I’ll be on a better path, and one that leads to finally ending this harmful medication.

That said, my current gastroenterologist asks me to call each month to get a refill of Prednisone until I can make the appointment above (link). Last month, a few days before I ran out, I called multiple times and no one answered, I left messages, but no one called me; when they finally did, I ran out of Prednisone and it’s not a medication that you can just stop. It can cause a stroke and you go through withdrawal symptoms which is like being hit on the highway by a mack truck! It’s absolutely fucking horrendous!

I called my gastro on Monday (three days ago) I couldn’t get through. I called yesterday multiple times, no one answered, I couldn’t even leave a message! According to their website they’re open until 5pm; it was 4:15pm. I drove over there despite not feeling well (back injuries, colitis pains etc…) and they were closed. Hours posted on the door say they’re open until 6pm! Wth???

I decided to wait to see if anyone shows up. A woman drives up, but it turns out that she’s a patient. She told me she drove an hour to get there, needless to say, she wasn’t happy.

No one ever came, I waited about a half hour, but then I started to get sick and needed to find a bathroom asap!

Tomorrow or rather, today is my last day of Prednisone. If I can’t get in touch with this damn office, it means one of two things… withdrawal and/or I go back to the hospital for the 3rd time this month!

This whole system of calling once a month to get a refill was supposed to be a two-fold thing to help me out.

  1. To be less stressful (yeah right!)
  2. The Dr. (whom would much rather see me in person) costs $275/visit (which I obviously can’t afford).

I don’t care how it happens… if I find a bag of money in the street or if I don’t wake up tomorrow, but I just need all this shit to fucking end already!!!

.
.
.

So… pictures, yeah?

CAREER

As many of you know, my career is in the film industry (well… when I’m healthy enough to work that is…) which includes photography / video, special effects makeup & theater as well).

Here’s a frame grab from a short zombie film I wrote, filmed and directed.

Part of my cast for my Edgar Allan Poe short film & myself after doing a one hour radio show to promote the film.

After 5 failed attempts (out of a possible 6) I finally got the blood splatter effect I was looking for using a contraption that I had made!!!

SPORT

I do and have done a lot of volunteer work in the Florida Everglades, here I’m taking my brother out canoeing in a remote area of the glades West of West Palm beach.

Shot this surfer doing his thing!

And just for a little fun, a racquetball video.. one of my favorite pasttimes!


Exhumed By Scrying Eyes October 25, 2017

PS: Just as I was posting that video... the smoke detector in my room started chirping. 2:50am!

Of course I had no 9 volt batteries (actually I did, but gave it to my sister when the one in her room started chirping 2 months ago). So guess who had to go to the store at 3:10am to get a freaking battery... ugh... I'm tired.

Leanne 🌈 Exhumed By Scrying Eyes ⋅ October 25, 2017

For a minute I thought you were gonna say it was paranormal being the witching hour and all.

As always I dig your photos. Adding I hope you get your meds asap gentle hugs.

Exhumed By Scrying Eyes Leanne 🌈 ⋅ October 26, 2017

Shame it wasn't, I wouldn't have had to get up, get dressed and left the house to deal with it.

Thank you, sorry I haven't been around much. I did get the med today, so that's one thing i don't really have to worry about for the next month.

Leanne 🌈 Exhumed By Scrying Eyes ⋅ October 26, 2017

Awesome that you finally got your meds.

the girl with a pipe October 25, 2017

I love the gruesome stuff you create! (Art imitates life? 😕) Wishing you the strength to stay focused on the good things and being well!

Exhumed By Scrying Eyes the girl with a pipe ⋅ October 26, 2017

If art truly truly imitated life, if 'my' art did... I'd be feeling better. ;) lol. Thank you kindly.

the girl with a pipe Exhumed By Scrying Eyes ⋅ October 27, 2017

😯

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.