10/23/17 in Adventures in Geocaching.

  • Oct. 24, 2017, 1:24 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Bobby wanted to go back out to the disc golf course we were at on Wednesday, which is also where I had done some caching on Friday, but there were still a few there that I wanted to grab.

So Juliet and I went geocaching while the boys played disc golf. There are 7 there in total. I grabbed two on Friday. Juliet and I were hoping for the other 5, but we were able to get 4. The last one was a small cache in the woods, and the terrain was really unstable. There were huge ditches on both sides, plus the ground was covered with leaves so it just wasn’t safe. But we had fun!

The first one we went for was off a side trail, it was a pill bottle that had a big rubber bug on the top of it. Juliet spotted it right away. The bag that had the log in it had ripped and the log was soaked, but I got smart and have been carrying supplies so I replace the bag and added a new dry piece of paper for the log.

At the second cache, we found another trackable! I forgot to mention the one I found on Friday. Basically, they are little coins that have a code on them. You look up that code on geocaching.com and you can see where it’s been. They like to travel, so you are supposed to put it in another cache.

There was one more along that trail that was an easy grab, then we headed for #4.

This one was under a big tree surrounded by brush. I’ve had the motto recently that I’m not diving in without getting a visual on it first. But thankfully we spotted it pretty quickly and Juliet dove right in after it. I love how much confidence she’s gained, we both have - honestly. Thankfully, spiders are pretty much gone with the cooler weather so that helps a ton.

This is a part of the trail that winded through the woods.
alt text

alt text

She was practicing opening the ammo box, they’re not easy to get open.
alt text

It was funny, we came out of the bushes on that one and there was a guy walking his dog. We ended up stopping to pet his dog and you could tell he wanted to ask wtf we were doing. haha. I didn’t offer any explanation but if he would have asked I would have told him.

So we got 3/4, which isn’t half bad. I like it when they’re fairly easy like that. I’m starting to hone my skills if you will. My phone’s GPS bounces around a lot, especially when you’re in the trees so I’m getting good at spotting foot paths and figuring out where the cache is. I really want to eventually get a legit GPS unit soon.

We’ve got 33 finds so far! There are many, many more in our area so now that some of our activities are winding down for the year we’ll have to make a day out of it every once and awhile and grab some. Hopefully the weather cooperates with that too.


NeonLady October 24, 2017

Fun! I really need to get going with this, I know the kids would love it.

KMARTIN527 NeonLady ⋅ October 24, 2017

They would! I bet there are some awesome caches where you are too. I wish we would have been into it when we were in Washington State, I can only imagine some of the places it would take you there.

KMARTIN527 NeonLady ⋅ October 24, 2017

Oh! You don't have to pay to get the harder caches, either. I switched to the c:geo app and it shows all the caches for free!

KittyGotClawz October 24, 2017

How fun!

Hillbilly Princess October 24, 2017

so cool

Deleted user October 30, 2017

That sounds like fun !

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.