Can't Make This Stuff Up in Muddling Through As Best I Can

  • Oct. 22, 2017, 6:49 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I am dying over here. I have a foster daughter, Kelly, who is 37. Shortly after leaving our home twenty years ago, she went to California and met a young man, Chris R., and married him. They separated after only a few months, but never divorced. Kelly returned to Texas and reconnected with my wife and I and I have been “Dad” since.
Kelly’s life moved on; she had three children that she lost custody of before getting her life on track. She then had Isabell, who is now 14. Until recently, she had been living with her boyfriend Chris H. She found her husband, who strangely enough was living one town over from us, and told him she wanted to finally get a divorce so she could move forward with her life. They began talking, and now, she is back with her husband after almost 18 years apart.
The kicker is that her now ex-boyfriend Chris H., has agreed to stay on as a housekeeper for the two of them and Isabelle. I usually stay out of my children’s love lives, but I had to ask.
He says he is not jealous and that he just wants to do whatever he can to stay near Kelly.
You can’t make this stuff up. I’d write a sitcom, but I’m afraid it would hurt their feelings. I just had to tell someone. I feel like my grandmother when she used to say, “I just don’t understand people anymore”,


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.