Halloween... and my mom. in This One's Perspective.

Revised: 10/20/2017 4:49 p.m.

  • Oct. 19, 2017, 7 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’ve always loved Halloween growing up, but my mom could never afford to buy me a costume. She always told me, “use your imagination. I’m sure people around the neighborhood will understand…“, yet they never did. I was haunted by taunts from children and parents alike because I didn’t have a store bought costume. I don’t expect anyone from Georgia, US during the 90’s to understand anything that didnt involve their thoughts or feelings. They simply didn’t care how they made you feel. That’s how I grew up. I was made to feel unwanted because I was the baby (youngest) of my family and I should be ashamed that my mom spoiled me. I am the youngest of four sons. I never asked to be concieved or birthed. The only thing I wanted on Halloween was to be accepted.. and candy. I still want candy - gummy bears would be nice. Anyway! My childhood may have not been the best, but I will always be grateful to my mother. For instance, every Halloween. She bought candy for the neighborhood kids, and then some for me. My mom always made everything better. She taught me valuable lessons, morals, and chivalry. Hell, she taught me how to fight. My entire point is, Halloween should be about fun. Even if your costume or lack thereof sucks!


Last updated October 20, 2017


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.