First time here... in This One's Perspective.

Revised: 10/17/2017 8:12 p.m.

  • Oct. 17, 2017, 6 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Skie recommend that I should get back into writing, since it is therapeutic, and being someone who loves the hobby I guess I needed the suggestion from her as my partner in life to swallow my anxiety and try it. So here goes… I used to write fiction. In fact, it has been a few years since I’ve written anything at all, except for me trying to go back to school to obtain my associates degree, at least. A few years ago my health bottomed-out and I almost died. I was put on at-home oxygen and was told that I couldn’t work anymore. I took that news in particular very hard. I used to work in the restaurant business as a cook. Crap pay, long hours, and spitefully insecure bosses as well as customers, but I love to cook. That was my main motivation for continuing to work as a cook. Well, three years ago I became I’ll, I lost my job, and then a month later I was hospitalized with a blood oxygen level of seventy-two percent. Suffice it to say, I was literally turning blue. I was treated and sent home three days later with an oxygen machine. I spent the next year battling anger, depression, and the state of Georgia for insurance. I conquered my anger and depression, but Georgia kept telling me I can work. Laughing? You should be. I showed the social security office all of the applications I turned in and the letters of rejection stabled to each one. They were still adament about me being too young for SSI and still able to work, even though I pointed out in each letter that I was called a “liability” to each rejecting company. I appealed my case and the judge agreed that I could still work and denied my claim. Mind you, that according to my sleep study, I am not allowed to drive, operate machinery, stand for more than an hour, sleep for no more than ten hours a night and the list continues. If I were to exceed anything on the list I could deplete all the oxygen in my brain and blood and turn blue again and suffocate. Fast forward to now in Indiana, I have a CPAP machine that keeps me breathing at night, insurance soon, and the state is thoroughly looking into my claim and I will be hearing from them in a week or two. If I have to appeal again I may lose my mind. Things are looking up, finally, at least from my healthcare end. I may have missed a few details, but that’s all for now.


Last updated October 17, 2017


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.