Being Included. in A New Beginning

  • Oct. 15, 2017, 1:13 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’ve worked at the same school for six years. Three years ago I opened a new FB account in my “real” name because I wanted to be able to include my work friends in my outside-of-work life more. That was when I found out that, apparently, three of my co-workers disliked me so much that the second I sent them a friend request, they blocked me so that their FB pages were no longer even visible to me! I was shocked, because....well, no one ever acted like they disliked me! I had never DONE anything. What possible reason could they have for not wanting me to even be able to SEE their FBs?? The only thing I could think of was, they must talk about me on there or something?? It was hurtful. I got over feeling hurt, I guess. But I still was just....I dunno....floored by it. Apparently they acted like they liked me at work but didn’t actually like me, for no actual reason at all except that I’m, well, ME? What the fuck?

But a couple weeks ago, one of them, Lori, said to me quite out-of-the-blue, “I tried to send you a friend request on FB but I couldn’t even find you!”
No shit? I had blocked her too, duh. No way were they going to lurk and read MY page if they didn’t deem me fit to read theirs!
I said, “oh yea? Well I might have it set to Friends Only. I’ll check when I get home.”
So when I got home I unblocked her and sent her a friend request. I saw that now I could also see Jen’s page and Davita’s page. Well now! Jen immediately accepted my friend request, as did Lori of course. Davita blocked me again! And she practically acts like she LOVES me at work! I have decided that maybe Davita just doesn’t want any but VERY close people on her friends list. Not everyone is as “open” to the world as I am. Whatever. It is fun being FB friends with the other two though, and I’m glad they got over whatever their problem was.

I think that the thing is, I don’t always see myself as others see me. But that’s true of everybody, pretty much. In honesty, I AM....kind of brash. A bit of a know-it-all. Aggressive. Oh, I mean, at the same time I AM also funny as hell, friendly like a tail-wagging dawg, and open-minded and accepting of pretty much everyone. I think I have a rather “BIG” presence nowadays, and maybe Lori and Jen just found that off-putting at first. Maybe they didn’t want me to see their personal lives because they thought I’d judge them?? Who can ever know everything that others think?

I like being included in EVERYTHING. I like knowing EVERYTHING that goes on. I don’t spread gossip; I am just fascinated in knowing everything that goes on, that’s all. I like to study people. Real people. The people who are actually in my life (both in-person and online friends too). I don’t have any interest in celebrities or fictional characters. All the people around me are as interesting as any tv show or book could ever be. Even though their lives are not “extraordinary” at all. Stuff doesn’t have to be! The ordinary IS extraordinary!


GypsyWynd October 15, 2017

I can't speak for your co-workers, but when I was working, I kept my work life and my personal life separate. Not that I was unfriendly at work, I got along with everyone, but it was extremely rare for me to turn a work friend into a personal friend. If I had had FB then, I would not have shared that with my co-workers. (I don't use FB now, either).
So maybe your co-workers just needed to know you a little better before they felt comfortable friending you.

thesunnyabyss October 15, 2017

I think it's have to like someone from work an awful lot to add them, I think lol

I'm glad to hear most of your workmates added you, sounds like the other may not add work people?

Hugs

groovy.heart October 19, 2017

bugger them! People can be just plain right strange. I find the mothers at the school like that at drop off and pick up. One day they are all over you, the next ignore you. ehhh!

I no longer even bother adding work colleagues, if they want they can add me.

Here I am again! groovy.heart ⋅ October 20, 2017

oh yea, when my kids were kids, the other soccer moms used to look at me like I had two heads or somethin'. Women can certainly be strange!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.