OctoPhoMo 13 in Just in Case

  • Oct. 13, 2017, 10:57 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Today was the opening of the PowWow. It’s the 40th anniversary of official recognition as a tribe, and Cbaby is the Tribal Princess. (She’s been Junior Princess for the past few years.) Because of the 40th anniversary, they got the girls beaded gowns. They are AMAZINGLY beautiful. She doesn’t get to keep the beaded crown, though. Here’s her in her PowWow regalia, with her crown she does get to keep.

Here’s the beautiful beaded crown (crazy expensive crown)

I’m borrowing my mom’s camera tomorrow, and hope for some much better pictures of the dancers, but this young man just caught my eye. He put his whole heart into the dancing.

I love seeing the kids, the little ones, getting out there and learning some of their heritage. My favorite is the drum circle and music. Especially at night, it just is amazing. It’s going to be a long day of it tomorrow. I don’t know if I’ll be out there all day, I was last year and enjoyed it. I’m going my parents’ first. They aren’t going to the PowWow. The grounds are rough, and there’s lots of walking to get in to arena. They just got home from a short road trip and things went bad. My dad fell on the first day (down some steep stairs). It so easily could have been worse, but he hurt his foot and knee. It took a lot out of them. Neither of them can take long car trips (this was about 10 hours). I just hate that it wasn’t at a time when I could drive them. He’s ok, he went to the doctor and they don’t think he broke anything, just sprained and bruised severely. :( It’s so hard to admit when your parents begin to age.


Deleted user October 14, 2017

OMG she is so grown up! I remember photos of her from our first year doing this. Such a lovely young lady!

terriberri October 14, 2017

so, so beautiful! love the butterflies on the gown too!

Deleted user October 16, 2017

She looks so pretty !

Small Town Girl October 17, 2017

:)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.