Jillion Obsidian Mire in POETRY

Revised: 10/14/2017 2:04 p.m.

  • Oct. 13, 2017, 11:46 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Amaranthine and pristine
Unwavering black - pools under my feet

With ever evasive tenderness
It liquefies my flesh – eroding away what the years have made

Heaven has yet to show its face in the presence of death
Clichéd, I stand at the gates, unattended and reclaimed by monochromatic shade

Unable to dream; eclipsed by screams, the sounds are deafening… but I’ve lost my hands to the metaphor – with nothing more than hollowed bones amplifying these caustic and echoing moans

Life, so it would seem lies between two shades of grey. I’m held in place by an amorphous and sanctimonious archfiend; limbless, this… my watery grave

Imprisoned in a reality created of wishful thought, of wanting, hoping and praying for more than I got

Unable to pierce the veil a million miles behind me; I am left standing in unchanging and unremitting darkness. Frail with veins like tendrils dangling coldly around my skinless body

A tear I cannot shed
A look I cannot give
- This is life where now I live

An embrace of icy air
Fills the space
- My lungs once laid claim

Stripping me of dignity; this place of decay where infection and disease has replaced four decades…

… Increasing blackness holds me captive

A hint that Hades - is much closer than we think.

By: Jaye Eryk
Copyright ©2017


Last updated October 14, 2017


Shattered October 13, 2017

Beautifully captivating as always.

Exhumed By Scrying Eyes Shattered ⋅ October 14, 2017

Mucho Gracias! Always a pleasure to be read and enjoyed.

the girl with a pipe October 14, 2017

As the leaves turn, I can see that Persephone is already on her way back to the underworld. There is so much Persephone in you. This poetry is how you burst forth with flowers.

Exhumed By Scrying Eyes the girl with a pipe ⋅ October 14, 2017

I never quite saw myself as queen of the underworld... ;) but I can see your Persephone connection. I like hearing varied interpretations of my work!

Thank you!

Chic Chat October 16, 2017

I love this!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.