Zonked out in Life from the bottom of the world.

  • Feb. 1, 2014, 12:23 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I woke up this morning after an extremely vivid dream, it was seriously as though it was real life and the colours were just as vivid. When I woke, it was 6am and I felt annoyed by not only the dream but also by my inability to sleep in. For some very weird reason I was totally exhausted and had a headache to boot. We went and had a look at boarding kennels for the dogs as we are going to the Outlaws for Easter, they now reside in Palmerston Nth which is lower middle Nth island. We saw one place my parents recommended and it was clean and the staff obviously love dogs and care for them well but I felt the bed area was a bit small for 2 greyhounds. They would fit but me being me, I want the best. We booked them in but I wanted to see something to compare it with to ease my mind. Today we drove to one which sounded really good on their website. It was the complete opposite to the other place. The dogs were in wire kennels, spent the morning on a concrete and stone area to do their morning business and then after lunch break would go to a large field and have a good run with other dogs. We couldn't see the field and only got to see the kennels after Bob asked to. It was definitely a business whilst the other place was more like a home. Dogs were barking like crazy as they were locked up in their kennels, it was 11.15am and in my opinion the dogs should have been outside exploring or lazing on some lawn. I feel much better now knowing my dogs will be loved and have the option of being outside in a large grassed area or going back to their room for a lie down. They are only locked in their bed area at night, other wise they can roam in their room or outside as they want. We then did a small grocery shop and one of Miss Fidgets friends was there and then one of the teachers from her school was there so Miss Fidgets was a very happy kid. I however started to feel worse and when we got home I left Bob to unload the groceries and I went to bed. I didn't feel sick, just extremely tired and a headache behind my eyes. I slept for 4hrs!!! When I woke I felt a bit better but knew I had to get up as it was now 4pm and I risked not falling asleep tonight. We bundled the dogs in to my car and took them to the dog park which they just love. Another couple who have 2 greyhounds also arrived and Star hung out with them but Mason being Mason, went and investigated all the other dogs instead. We thought Mason would get his pack mentality and go for a huge run with their large greyhound but it wasn't to be. Star is a real social butterfly, she just flits around checking out other dogs big and small and hanging out with anyone who will pat her. There were a couple of Borzoi dogs there and they can be quite aggressive but luckily my guys weren't interested in them. Star actually is the most laid back greyhound, if a dog gets excited or barks at her, she just turns the other way and leaves them to it. One small Bichon took to barking at her, trying to be dominant and she just turned away and came running to me for comfort and reassurance. She may be a medium sized dog but she's a softie at heart. Mason on the other hand can go in to "predator" mode and want to catch that noisy thing to shut it up but he wears a muzzle so no one gets injured and when Bob calls his name, he knows to stop immediately LOL. I do love my greyhounds and am so thankful they have been given a chance at a normal non-racing life. I do however wish the neighbours cats would stop coming in to my backyard as a shortcut! We have had them for 2 yrs and still dumb cats risk their lives by cutting through. Mason is very quick, he pulled one cat off the fence a yr ago but didn't hurt it thankfully as we yelled at Mason and the cat scratched his nose as it escaped. The next cat might not be so lucky! It's now 7.20pm and I have a yummy roast chicken with roast kumara, potatoes and carrots cooking for dinner. Then its fresh blueberries and ice cream for dessert....yum! I'm still tired so don't think I'll have a problem going to sleep. I wonder if it's all the stress at work that has just finally caught up with me or maybe it's my eyes that need testing as I do need glasses. I think glasses are sexy so have no problem wearing them but it's just the outlay for them that I'm trying to avoid. I get half price eyes test due to a work scheme but not on frames/lens...drats! Yep I'm tired as I'm moaning LOL


Loopy Hooky February 01, 2014

I hate dreams that take over my night, both good ones and bad ones nods you just don't feel rested, so you? Hope you manage more sleep tonight hun x

memelou February 01, 2014

I got my last pair of glasses at WalMart for about $120. That has ot to be the least I've ever spent on a pair.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.