Limbo in more ways than one. in Majimaze Musing!

  • Oct. 7, 2017, 4:59 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Hello there Readers. I trust you are are all well and happy as you can be. I am relatively so. H aha! I have a horrible cough virus which starts with a sore throat then progresses to a ghastly cough. Nothing like a cold or ‘flu and yet a virus. Many on the Island are afflicted and my immune system just gave up when my daughter and her family got it for the 3rd time! I have so far been very unwell for a week with varying periods of feeling slightly better. The problem really is that I am pretty good during the day however, at night I really cough a lot and it is nasty! I toss and turn and cough. I then feel pooped the next day. I have not been to the doctor as I have no signs of a chest infection and they don’t give antibiotics for viruses! I am against taking too many antibiotics anyway. So second week coming up. Cross fingers I start improving. I manage the Library and food walking my dog! Strangely I don’t cough while walking so fresh air is key. I have coughed to a back ache and pulled tummy muscle! So that is one limbo.

Enough of my health!

The other limbo is our government. These are interesting times. I have just watched another political programme and all the commentators who talk nothing else except what the government is going to be. This is the result of an Mixed Member Proportional government. Like in Germany. For most of my 73 years we have had First Past the Post. Which briefly is,that the party with the most votes in the election wins and is the Government.
Now, under MMP, we have many parties who all have a role to play if they get enough seats.
So, we have 1 party now with the most votes who need a couple more seats to form a government, and 3 possible parties who could form a coalition of parties and form a government. And the key is a party which has the next amount of seats. The Leader of that party has to decide which party he and his seats will form a government with. They all have to talk to each other and it could take a week or months. So speculation is RIFE amongst the media and commentators! So that is the 2nd limbo!
Enough of politics!

Life goes on here and in the world in general. So many stories and tragedies which the media fastens on to saturation point. I am NOT going to pass judgement here on anybody or any country. Everybody else does so I will NOT. Suffice to say that I have been saddened and upset by the tragic events in Las Vegas and my thought and prayers are with the families. What has appalled me is the venom and nastiness that has appeared following the event. Lets face it. The USA comes in for a huge amount of the nastiness.
It is not our business as human beings to judge each other. Perhaps we should try to understand and help in any way we can. ‘Judge not lest you be judged.’ USA is an amalgam of 50 odd states , each with it laws and problems and beliefs. It has to work itself out and we must leave them to do that. Not hurl abuse at each other when we are another country altogether. Name calling is easy. It also doesn’t help. As an older person I am adopting a new policy!
Stop bullying! Individuals or countries, it is still bullying. All my life I have encountered bullying and name calling. Easy prey!I am slightly overweight wear glasses and have a tendency to speak my mind.I have worn glasses since age 8 and apart from a few years have been overweight.And I have always been out spoken, even as a small child.
Now 73, I won’t engage at all.I will also give my opinion after much thoughtif I think I should.

Enough of that as well.
My families are good and thriving and the weather is revolting! Ha ha!Too much rain and not enough sun!Roll on Summer and hopefully, WEEKS of fine warm weather!
And I hope weakly that this cough deserts me very soon.

A bit of a serious entry, however, September was a serious month! My thoughts are with you all and much love and God Blessxxxxx


crystal butterfly October 07, 2017

Your form of government sounds really confusing. I sure hope you are close to the upward swing with whatever you have.

TruNorth October 08, 2017

Not a fan of proportional representation. In my mind it is undemocratic as minority elements can end up dictating terms to the majority of citizens.

majimaze TruNorth ⋅ October 08, 2017

That is what is happening here to a degree TruNorth. I will let you know how it comes out when and if!! xxx

majimaze November 24, 2017

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.