Question for fitness people in Diary

  • Oct. 5, 2017, 11:01 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

So I was kind of co-erced into entering a team relay race at work. We were told the total distance is a half marathon and we each run about three miles each. They were desperate for people to take part as they need a certain amount of people per team so I said I would do it, just so the team didn’t have to drop out. I did warn them that I’ve had no time for training with still sorting out the house etc. but I would do my best. Fine, they said.

I haven’t done any exercise at all for at least a couple of months and I’ve never run more than 5k before.

I had a proper look at the website today and there’s no mention of a relay anywhere. What it says is, they take the best four times from each team and add them up to work out which team wins.

So…all of us have to run the entire half marathon. Errmm…

Everyone is crapping themselves now as no-one has been training for a half marathon. Everyone’s just been really chilled and doing their regular exercise of 5k, 10k etc. I’ve done NOTHING. The race is next weekend, 15th October. Everyone has said they will still enter, just for fun, to see how we get on. If any of us drop out, the whole team has to drop out as there won’t be enough people.

Guys, my exercisey type friends, what are the chances of me dying? I can walk and walk for hours and miles and climb mountains and never get tired. But running, I am exceptionally rubbish at. Should I still enter, and just do it really slowly? Or do you think we should pull out the whole team?

If I do do it, what sort of last minute preparation should I be doing, in the week before and then the day before and on the day itself? What exercise should I do and what should I eat etc? I don’t even know where my running shoes are, they’re lost somewhere in the mountain of boxes from the move. ARGH!


Odd Socks October 05, 2017

Oh heck! How does the Restnof the team feel about it?
I'd be tempted to just walk to be honest! I can walk for miles & miles & miles but likewise have only ever run 5k (slowly) & that was doing the c25k!

celador October 05, 2017

I'd say go for it but power walk and jog if you feel like it. Nothing much you can do now except eat healthily and drink enough water in the days leading up to it. All the "preparation" that people do is mostly rubbish, like you don't need to stuff your face with pasta the day before or anything xxx

Lucretia October 05, 2017

If they're going to be strict about walking instead of running just drop out. You'll hurt yourself and it's not worth it.

Bomb Shell Lucretia ⋅ October 05, 2017

Are they normally strict about that kind of thing?? I didn't know public races were so dictator-y, you're the second person to say they might be strict and I'm worried now, I was planning on walking most of it! Thing is, if I drop out then there won't be enough people to submit a team, so everyone else would miss out.

Bomb Shell Lucretia ⋅ October 05, 2017

Are they normally strict about that kind of thing?? I didn't know public races were so dictator-y, you're the second person to say they might be strict and I'm worried now, I was planning on walking most of it! Thing is, if I drop out then there won't be enough people to submit a team, so everyone else would miss out.

summertime sadness. October 05, 2017

I'd probably just drop out, but I'm in shit shape, and the prospect of being the reason my team had to drop out would ruin me for weeks. If you guys can just walk it, that's different, but I'm surprised they didn't mention anything about everyone having to do a half marathon!!

Talk it over with everyone and see how they feel? I'm sure they're all feeling the same way!

Bomb Shell summertime sadness. ⋅ October 05, 2017

The person who decided the company was going to submit the team completely misunderstood the concept. She just assumed that the half marathon would be split between everyone, but she didn't read it properly.

Everyone else is well up for it. None of them have trained for it but they all think it's hilarious! I will definitlwy be walking about 75% of it.

summertime sadness. Bomb Shell ⋅ October 05, 2017

Welp, as the cool kids say, YOLO! I think what that translates to is: walk that marathon, rock that marathon!

Complicated Disaster October 05, 2017

It's way too late to worry about any sort of preparation. Just jog where you can and walk the rest. I've never heard of an event that's strict about that. Good luck! xx

Bomb Shell Complicated Disaster ⋅ October 05, 2017

Oh that's good then! Thank you, I'll just be happy if I finish. Even if it take me six hours, it'll be my PB lol.

Complicated Disaster Bomb Shell ⋅ October 06, 2017

You should be able to walk it in less than 4 hours!! xx

Canadian Lass October 05, 2017

i would say prep with some yoga/Pilates, and LOADS of stretching. and get a bit of cardio in when you can.
And LOADS of water.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.