I just have to WRITE. in A New Beginning

  • Oct. 4, 2017, 2:25 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Ugh, I have had another long-ish lapse in my blog-writing! I really want to keep writing here regularly, darn it. Well, the only way to write here is to just do it! So here goes…
This morning we had fun at work. :o) Our new manager Jane (aka “Slavedrivin’ Woman) was out this morning for an appointment, but had said she would be in later. THE FIRST THING “the mice” did while the cat was away was to change the radio back to OUR station!!!! Because at the very start of her being there, Jane had changed the radio FROM our favorite station to hers classic rock station. OUR station plays the current hits. We all loathe the classic rock station! It was wonderful getting to work to our tunes again....turned up, of course! :o) !! (We’d been turning the other station down lower every day, since nobody liked it.) With our tunes on, we were all chattering away very cheerily all morning, and the custodians kept passing through commenting on how much more animated we were. No kidding! In a workplace, getting to listen to music everyone enjoys makes a big difference in everyone’s mood!

And the other thing was that nobody filled up the three-compartment sink, which NEVER got used under our old manager, but which Jane insisted upon us putting into use. (And it should be used, in my opinion....but it just tickled me that nobody filled it at all. I’m sure Jane MUST have had something to say about that when she got there, but since filling it is not my job, she didn’t say it to me!)

I am actually getting along okay with Jane, but if she changes that radio back, she’s gonna be on my shit list!

Over the weekend, I celebrated Mabon (one of our witches’ sabbats, commemorating the harvest) with my coven. I’ve been a member of this coven for, gee, I don’t even know!!....ten years?? But last year I took an official leave of absence. They were all sad, but to be honest, I was happy to be free of their shit for awhile. I had a few resentments festering. I had actually just been going to EXIT, but our Elder, Michael, told me I could be granted solitary status for as long as I liked and still remain a member....just one without any official obligations ever. It was very moving to me, to find out Michael valued me enough to give me a special privilege. Anyhow, during a year of being a solitary, I made some realizations about myself and the things that actually WERE and WERE NOT important to me. With this, I suddenly felt the resentment that I thought I felt, fade away. I came back to the coven as an active member in August, and I’m very happy. I had a perfectly wonderful time at Mabon. :o)

My sister Sandy is still being peculiar re: not seeming to care about doing anything with me. I am not taking it personally. She just wants to be alone I guess. I know it’s nuthin’ against me. I don’t want to ignore her! But I am not going to become a pest, always “do ya wanna?” “do ya wanna?” “do ya wanna?” either. I already suggested that maybe she & I could do something on Saturday. I will suggest it again one more time before then. And if she still can’t say “sure! let’s!” I will make other plans!

I do realize, I am 59 and she is 77. I might not want to go and do very much when I’m 77 either....if I even get to be.

I told Joe this afternoon that I was “tired enough to DIE,” so right away he offered to go uptown and get Chinese takeout for supper. :o) That helps a whole lot with my level of tiredness!! :o) !! He’s on his way to get it now, so I am going to draw these words of wit to a close for now.


woman in the moon October 04, 2017

So good to hear from you.
There is a big difference between 59 and 77. I'm 71 and I generally feel young but 59 seems like really young to me. I like the way you try to include her and I think you are doing it just the right way. Give her a chance but do not push her.
Correct radio in the workplace is very important!!!!

thesunnyabyss October 04, 2017

Joe is such a kind guy,

it can be such a fine line to walk with asking some people to do things, I have a few friends with chronic illnesses that have them cancelling plans a lot and sometimes it's hard to remember it's not about you but them, and you never know when you are asking too often or not often enough, ugh people , lol,

I'm so glad you are enjoying being back within your coven, I love hearing about it!

have a great day!!!!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.