What do you do? in Hot town, summery in the city - 2017

  • Oct. 1, 2017, 1:54 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

A friend put up a link on Facebook, it challenged the phrase ‘just a mum’. I commented, and thought I’d put my comment here as an entry.

This is the original link: http://www.selfishmother.com/just-a-mum-2/

And my response.

I was once talking to a bloke at a dinner party who said he hated that question because he didn’t want to be identified purely by his job. That was the first time I thought of this. R has the same opinion.

This has made me reword, slightly, that age old question to kids; I ask “What do you want to DO when you grow up?” in place of “What do you want to BE when you grow up?”

I work as a TA but I am a mum, a runner, a writer. I love to learn new things and like to keep my mind open. Being a TA really helps me with that, but it’s my passions that define me. Not my job.


thesunnyabyss October 01, 2017

interesting article,

'just a mom' is something that has slipped off my lips many a times, lol

January Child October 01, 2017

It's true and I've said it myself "What do you do?" knowing that there is so much more to a person than their job... I cringe as I say it.
But I guess I try to make it a starter to get to know them a bit more.

ElvenAssassin October 02, 2017

:)

Deleted user October 03, 2017

So true. I am a mum, a pet keeper, a gardener, a writer, a nurse, a housekeeper, a hypnotist, and a therapist . Was anyway :-)

colojojo February 06, 2018

Good point

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.