November Spawned a Monster in Strangely Estranged

  • Sept. 28, 2017, 5 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

And Independence Day hath taken her away. Our very own Rain Woman whose number is now 22 and 520 is gone. It seemed as though dates were her only talent. She was able to recall dates without difficulty but not much else. She was inflicted with meningitis as an infant which left her mentally and physically handicapped.

I always dreaded being near her in my childhood. I was disgusted by her appearance and feared her power-grip around my arm. That’s how she would play, by holding on to me as tightly as possible. I would frantically struggle to free myself from the drooling she-monster.

Now, being more mature I feel guilt about my feelings. Should I? Her condition was not her own choosing. I still don’t know what is “right” in this regard.

When I heard Morrisey’s November Spawned a Monster and really listened to it it felt like he must have a window into my world. Although she didn’t have wheels beneath her, until perhaps in her last days at the hospital.

We celebrate her life in a service in early October. I should attend, but again feel guilt, do I really miss her? I’m not sure, all I know is that her life was simply a tragedy both for her and those around her. I don’t know what the solution could be.

I guess even she was given many gifts during her life, only I am the one to discover them.


Last updated September 28, 2017


Comments are closed.

No comments.

Comments are closed.