Ten More Brilliant Things (after being 75) in Brilliant Things I Enjoy After My 75th Birthday

  • Sept. 26, 2017, 9:12 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

  1. To read until 3 a.m. if you want to and no one asks if I know what time it is
  2. To choose a gift from an antique shop for a friend’s birthday that is 6 months in the future because you know she will love it– and she does!
  3. To cut back shrubs and be so tired afterward that you leave them where they fell and the next morning to sleep late and get up, look outside and they have been gathered and carried away by the lawn cutting folk who come every week but not on the same weekday so you had no idea they’d be there on that day.
  4. To have new neighbors and realize that you got to know them in deeper way during the hurricane and after it passed.
  5. Good hair days.
  6. On the day before your air conditioning is going to be turned back on, to decide to eat ice cream despite being lactose intolerant and to not get sick at all.
  7. To need to put new tires on your car and be able to do that without needing to consider the cost and the budget you live on – my parents were not that fortunate.
  8. To put on a dress you bought and found it too tight to wear 6 months ago and find it fits you wonderfully.
  9. To have a daughter (or family member) who is also your financial advisor and find that you work together very well.
  10. Being loved is always a brilliant, a tremendous gift, and knowing that you are is exceedingly brilliant.

woman in the moon September 26, 2017

Perfect, lovely entry.

ODSago woman in the moon ⋅ September 26, 2017

It's life!

MageB September 26, 2017

I love number 4. Hugs.

ODSago MageB ⋅ September 26, 2017

Thank you and I so agree.

I always have to look up the numbers that people refer to to see what I wrote...that makes me sort of giggle each time...which feels pretty brilliant...giggling. Have a great day, Friend of mine.

Zipster September 26, 2017

All of these are great; and your are for being grateful for them.

ODSago Zipster ⋅ September 26, 2017

So simple. So pleasing.

Sabrina-Belle September 26, 2017

I totally agree with the first one. I find now if I wake in the night to go to the bathroom I can't get back to sleep unless I read a little, but who cares, I love reading.

ODSago Sabrina-Belle ⋅ September 26, 2017

I do the same. When I get sleepy I turn out the light and fall asleep ruminating about what I read.

Wit' or witout September 26, 2017

A very good "life list" like this proves you live in the present.
Today is what we have!

ODSago Wit' or witout ⋅ September 26, 2017

Yes! There are things we remember and things we look forward to...but today is what we have.

Deleted user September 28, 2017

Wonderful!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.