Brilliant things I experienced in a hurricane after I was 75 in Brilliant Things I Enjoy After My 75th Birthday

  • Sept. 24, 2017, 1:16 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

  1. Knowing I was okay to stay alone in my house during the before, during, and end phases of Hurricane Irma.
  2. That someone can do that after age 75 and feel perfectly confident.
  3. That a tree could fall to the left of my house and partially in my front yard without hitting my house.
  4. That the tree was secretly dying anyway and of the many trees in that yard, it was the one that fell.
  5. That a tree could also fall to the right of my house and not touch my house.
  6. That I could even enjoy eating canned salmon, tuna, smoked sausage with canned veggies in oil, vinegar and onion salads.
  7. The impact of wet towels over one’s shoulders in a house that is hot…84-96.
  8. When friends loan me an window air conditioner for one room that offers respite from the heat
  9. The amazement and reinforcement one of 75+ feels when adult children if reluctantly agree with decisions I made to stay here without electricity for days
  10. The joy days later of awakening comfortably in a room, then walking out into another and yet another and all are air conditioned and comfortable.

Zipster September 24, 2017

WE forget sometimes what a challenge life can be, at any age and it is heartening to know that we can survive, even thrive thru it all. Glad all is getting back to normal.

ODSago Zipster ⋅ September 24, 2017

It is heartening. A good way to express the feeling.

Deleted user September 24, 2017

You did it and well !

MageB September 27, 2017

I do like that last one. Don't loose the new friendships now.

ODSago MageB ⋅ September 27, 2017

I'll try.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.