Today is My Birthday in Packrat

  • Sept. 22, 2017, 9:54 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

“Birthday”

They say it’s your birthday
It’s my birthday too, yeah
They say it’s your birthday
We’re gonna have a good time
I’m glad it’s your birthday
Happy birthday to you

from “Birthday” by Paul McCartney and John Lennon

Today is my birthday. When I arrived at work today the parking lots were mostly empty as if our offices had closed down for a holiday. Were we closed for my birthday, I wondered, only I didn’t get the memo? haha

I wouldn’t have come in today either but I have to do Wunderkind’s job evaluation. I missed two days this week and the days I was in the office were spent correcting my budget (with “mistakes” by the Excel program that rounded up numbers, knocking off my totals by a dollar here and there so that it “wasn’t the approved budget” from the last fiscal year and even though I’ve already been told when doing the thing to round off my numbers ~sigh~). Had my budget hearing with the elected leaders yesterday in which we talked of the U2 cancellation and the different atmosphere with the newly elected (“Now you hear laughter like that of little children,” one said) - I think there might have been a mention about my budget somewhere in there. The treasurer pointed out the seat at the end of the table as “the hot seat”. “But if I sit at the end of the table,” I said, “I’m going to think I’m running this meeting!”

I’m trying not to feel blue but the U2 concert was my birthday present to myself. They’re playing tonight in San Diego. They performed in Kansas City, with which I am also familiar, and in Phoenix where my cousin lives, but I had a myriad of reasons to pick St. Louis.

I even thought, “Who can I sue?” I sank hundreds of dollars into this trip for ultimately NOTHING except a sad story to tell. The courts knew theirs would be a controversial decision. One news tidbit said the governor already had the National Guard on standby. They knew enough to have the police ready for riot action but not enough to know the concert could be a target and they might need additional forces?

I understand the decision to cancel by U2 and Ed Sheeran; I still think they did the responsible thing, something I don’t believe the judge did in the timing of his announcement.

But then it’s only a concert. I’ve seen U2 three times, and I will again. My mother and Little Brother were with me all the times before; this would have been my first time alone. U2 was a family affair with each of us owning our own DVDs and CDs, with the exception of The Joshua Tree which I have on the original vinyl.

I’m also bummed to hobble around as I do, but on Wednesday I had to pick up papers from the hospital (because the workplace LOST MINE so there was no record of why I had been gone). The staff were amazed to see me walking around the halls, and some didn’t even recognize me. They all gushed that I looked great and several said I made their day. That bolstered me; it felt good to know how excited they were at what I can do because I get so bogged down in what I can’t do, forgetting that I’ve really come a long way. When they knew me I was still coming out of an infection and surgeries, always flat on my back in bed or sitting in a wheelchair. I may not be 100% yet but I am getting there; I can see the finish line.

Since it was day I didn’t get to see the Crush, who works the night shift. Some of us are nocturnal creatures.

I told the intake coordinator that I wanted to come back because in the real world I have to do things for myself!

And of course there are some people who mention “it takes longer to heal when you get older” - like I want to hear that because I don’t feel old (although I joined AARP immediately at 50), but I observed this morning that on my next birthday I’ll “officially be an elder”. Our elders’ benefits start at 55. We call the 55 year olds “baby elders”. A coworker came in my office this afternoon; she’s a month older. She said next year we’ll get to have free lunches and go on the elders’ trips at an age when we’ll “still be babies”.

My mom wants to go to dinner and a movie for my birthday because we haven’t been out like that since December 2016. We haven’t been out like that because everything we do takes an extra effort. I feel blue about that, too - so many who have always celebrated my birthdays with me are no longer here. I don’t need something for my birthdays to feel special, but today it feels like any other day.

Aw, boo hoo, poor poor pitiful me. If I feel a raincloud hovers over my head I should remind myself that the rain provides nourishment for the earth to flourish and for flowers to grow.


the girl with a pipe September 22, 2017

Happy birthday!! Wishing you plenty of "flowers!"

Eriu the girl with a pipe ⋅ September 25, 2017

Thank you for the good wishes and for stopping by! :-)

ConnieK September 22, 2017

I think we ALL become a bit morose at the current celebration versus those of old. My kids decided that we are not exchanging gifts this year, for birthday OR Christmas. I'm trying to be flexible in my thinking, but really, it's not a happy change for me. Then again, it takes pressure off. Even so, the celebration seems to be gone, most of my family gone, my circle of friends gets smaller.

You had to do Wunderkind's evaluation? Did you do two versions? The one the committee will see and one that's truthful and already shredded? :)

Happy birthday, my friend. May the coming year be filled with happy blessings for you and all who love you!

Eriu ConnieK ⋅ September 25, 2017

Thank you for the birthday wishes! I don't think I'd be happy about that change, either, but I'm mixed. I've been saying for years no one has to give me anything (limited space; I don't need anything) but I still like to give. My car Charlie benefits, though, by getting presents! I think as we get older our big celebrations cease; those of our friends and family still here are spread all over the country and aren't in one place so we have smaller individual observances; I also say our birthdays give us reason to celebrate all month! All his birthday meant to my Little Brother was that he'd get a steak dinner.

LOL Re evaluation. You hit the nail on the head. I thought about what I'm not satisfied with, but she does well in the job for which she was hired. Her raise also depends on the evaluation, which I don't understand since none of us here get merit increases but cost of living. I thought about writing out a brutally honest one to get it out of my system and one HR will file.

Deleted user September 23, 2017

Happy Birthday ! I hope you are going out !

Eriu Deleted user ⋅ September 25, 2017

Thank you - and no, I didn't, but not because of physical limitations. Or rather, not MY physical limitations! Paranormal shows started and I'm interested in ghosts, so I binge watched those who have physical limitations because they don't have bodies anymore! haha

Deleted user Eriu ⋅ September 26, 2017

I lived in a real life haunted house for three years . Oh , the stories I can tell you. I am a believer !

Eriu Deleted user ⋅ September 28, 2017

I used to belong to a paranormal investigation team. Never got to participate in any but one because I was always on travel for my job. I just bought a book on haunted hotels that includes the Lemp Mansion. Have you ever been there? Or was your own home being haunted more than enough?

Deleted user Eriu ⋅ September 28, 2017

No, I have never been there. Our house was unnerving , although nothing sinister or evil feeling. It was Ringing buzzers in the middle of the night ( whose wires had been cut and that happened every night we lived there.) , books knocked out of bookcases daily, knives set out on the kitchen counter that had been put away almost daily, lights switched on in the middle of the nightwaking you up, beds unmade after being made in the morning, the sound of footsteps in the middle of the night creaking the wood floors ( and no one was there), and one incident where a swinging door going into the kitchen knocked my Mom on her butt. She pushed in and whatever it was pushed back ; hard . Also you could not leave little things like jewelry sitting out or they disappeared; never to be found again. It was mostly all mischief but seriously creepy. We lived there three years because it was a very pretty house and extremely low rent ( we were friends with the owner) but she would not live in it . She sold it after we moved out . I often wonder if the new owners experienced what we did. I think it has been bought and sold several times over the years. It's a pretty house ; a large craftsman bungalow ; and it looks even better now , so whoever lives there cares about it .

Deleted user Eriu ⋅ September 28, 2017

My dogs used to stand up and stare often too like they could see something I couldn't .

NorthernSeeker September 23, 2017

Happy Birthday Baby Elder! I love that phrase. I'm 61...I guess I'm a Kindergarten Elder. How old are the eldest elders? It is good you went back to the hospital so people could see and appreciate how far you have progressed. It's easy to focus on what you can't do instead of what you can do again and it's helpful to have people who can point it out. I taught a lot of special needs children and I switched my brain to look at what they did do and show me instead of what was lacking. The recognition of what is there is a powerful motivator.

Eriu NorthernSeeker ⋅ September 25, 2017

Thank you! I think most of our oldest tribal members are in their 80s, but I recently heard of one in his 100s! Our secretary hadn't been removing deceased tribal members names from the active enrollment records (they stay on the roll but are acknowledged as deceased with their date of death) so we had several listed in their 100s, but one really is. I wondered why that tidbit hadn't been shared so the newspaper could do a story on him. One of my grandfathers was 112 when he died.

Ragdolls September 25, 2017

Belated Happy Birthday!

Eriu Ragdolls ⋅ September 25, 2017

The way I see it, birthdays give us a reason to celebrate all month, so you're right on time!

Ragdolls Eriu ⋅ September 25, 2017

Sounds good! Since I'm a Virgo I'll celebrate with you till the end of the month.

Serin September 28, 2017

Happy Birthday to you.

And if people start making you feel old, get a pogo-stick for a walking stick. It'll make the bastards uncomfortable! ;P

Eriu Serin ⋅ October 13, 2017

Hehe! I think my staff makes them uncomfortable because I'm the one holding it. I've never actually hit anybody...yet! I'll put it on my bucket list!

Deleted user October 14, 2017

Come to Springfield and we will celebrate your " Unbirthday"
Big time . Be warned though I have pets and plants !!!:-)

Eriu Deleted user ⋅ October 14, 2017

I love pets!

Deleted user Eriu ⋅ October 14, 2017

Great !! We will get along fine !

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.