Makes me wonder what's up. in A New Beginning

  • Sept. 21, 2017, 7:19 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I don’t know why I couldn’t have normal sisters, but then again, I suspect there are more “abnormal” people in the world than there are “normal” ones. ;o) My sister Sandy is a loner. She says so. But she always has a good time when we do things together. I imagine she has mostly good times on her own as well. I know that I do, and we are a lot alike.

Sandy moved here from Ohio a year after her husband died. Since she and our other sister Carol are on the outs and neither of them seems the least bit inclined to try to fix it, and her son lives three hours away (he comes and visits 3-4 times a year), she doesn’t have any family but me and Joe. I know she doesn’t get a fair amount of interaction with her neighbors though. But I still try to think of things we can get together and do. She never says anything like “Come over for coffee” or anything, so I either have to invite myself over or think of something like “Ya wanna do lunch this Saturday?” or “Wanna come over for supper tomorrow?” She says no about two thirds of the time. Which is her own business. And is fine, though I would like to see her; that is why I persist! But both my sisters are like this.....they sortuv wait and EXPECT other people to know what they need, what they want, etc. And then if the other people don’t get things right, they (the sisters) either feel hurt, or resentful, or something.

Sometimes I think, why don’t I just wait for HER to call ME and suggest doing something????? But the thing is....I don’t think she ever would! What are ya’all’s thoughts about this weird situation anyhow??

More about our workplace drama....everyone else is so fed up with the new manager, Jane, that they are thinking of looking for other jobs and quitting. In a nutshell, they don’t like that she is making them work hard.

I have been working my ass off ever since I’ve been there! While most of the others just stood around! So I think I’m actually going to thank Jane, when I get an opportunity, for making it so that I don’t always feel that I am the only one working their ass off!!


thesunnyabyss September 21, 2017

I frequently wonder why I don't have normal kids, lol,

I'm glad to hear Jane is making the other's pull their weight, it's so frustrating when you work hard and other's slack,

I get what you are saying about your sister, I feel the same way about mine at times, but not making the first move means no time with a loved one, it's such a catch 22 situation,

have a good night and a great Friday!!! hugs!!!

Ragdolls September 23, 2017

The sister situation is puzzling. Have you ever tested your theory of waiting for them to contact you? I wonder how long you would have to wait? Don't know if I could do it, but perhaps trying that might tell you something. If one should call you, you could state your feelings about having to be the one to initiate activities. I talk to my sisters all the time and we all take turns making the effort to do so.

Here I am again! Ragdolls ⋅ September 23, 2017

My siblings are/were all weird like that. It's like they kept score as in "Well I went to see so-and-so x number of times but s/h only came to see me ___." Ditto for calling. But then they never see their OWN behavior as being the same way! I am the ONLY one out of us four who has never done that. But I do understand, as much as it can BE understood. Kids who grow up not being given much, sometimes never learn how the normal ratio of giving/receiving (of love) works. It is ok. I love them all anyway.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.