Jen and Boys in Someone Always Has it Worse

  • Feb. 1, 2014, 8:42 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

So I was recently re-connected with an old high school friend at Anah's 30th birthday wine tasting trip...

Technically I've known Jen for about 15 years...I didn't actually connect with her until 1.18.14, the day of the trip...She has been friends with my sisters and is a little younger than me (she is 30 and I'm 32), so I didn't have much interest in getting to know her during our "early" years.

Jen and I on the wine trip.

She has twin boys (age 3) that are both autistic...She also has a 2 year old daughter.

Her ability to handle the cards she has been dealt never ceases to amaze me.

Just when I feel I might "blow a fuse" with the ONE child I have to take care of, I can't help try to place myself in the shoes of others...HOW in the Fing world does she handle 2 autistic children along with another needy child (as all children are needy, just that some are more so than others)!?

Here is a beautiful video she shared today of the boys (named Shane and Dylan)...They usually don't tolerate one another (contrary to most "normal" twin behavior) and here they are sharing a bath together (un-heard of)

Just when you think you're at your "wits end" the Universe provides a loving example how you're not even fucking close to it. An example of WHY it is IMPORTANT to love the "BAD" times as much as you "LOVE" the good.

<iframe height="480" width="360" frameborder="0" src="http://www.magisto.com/embed/PkRBKkUVQjk5AQRpYw"></iframe>

illustrious February 01, 2014

I can't even imagine how difficult that must be. Kudos to her for handling it!

ninakir88 February 01, 2014

cute video! that does seem like a handfull

MichelleyTX February 01, 2014

this is so true!!! I always think "it can always be 10x worse" or "someone always has it worse than I do "

Deleted user February 01, 2014

Such a cute video!! <3

Small Town Girl February 03, 2014

Wow. Like the above note, its always important to remember that someone else always has it tougher. She must be an incredibly strong woman!

Sabrina-Belle February 03, 2014

Oh that is so beautiful. As the mother of a grown up AS daughter I can't imagine what hard work it must be for for your friend to cope with autistic twins, but they obviously have the right mother. A lady I met at a friend's house once told me that her daughter had the gift of Asperger's, and she wasn't joking. It's how you look at things isn't it.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.