Ride in General

  • Sept. 20, 2017, 8:27 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Disappointing day at the beach. I arrived right at high tide. It was all chop. There were no real ride-able swells.

I sat on my board and watched the waves beat themselves into foam.

One good thing about a decent length drive is you get a lot of clarity about a lot of things.

Hit rewind.

I woke up at 6am. I was comfy in my bed, but once you are awake there is no use trying to pretend you are going back to sleep.

I put the recycling on the curb, actually more on the edge of the lawn. I try to be a decent neighbor - thus I don’t block the sidewalk.

The TV was off. The air conditioners were off. The fans were off. It was eerie. So freaking quiet.

You don’t often think about the incessant noise in modern life.

Other than Prosebox I am pretty much off social media. It is only when it is quiet that you realize how fucking loud this planet has become in the last 20 years.

I noticed it again on the beach. Sitting on my board. Even with the crashing surf, it was quiet between my ears.

Came home. Took a nap. Noticed I had dragged sand into the bed. Took a shower. Washed the sheets.

Checked email. Nothing from MCF. Still feeling quite content.

To a degree it is unsettling, how when I feel most at peace I find myself missing Audrey. That one piece of my life I can’t quite reconcile.

I remember sitting at opposite ends of the couch. Our legs covered with the blanket that still stays on the back of that couch. I saw a look come over her face. I asked her if she was okay. She just shook her head and started to cry.

It still breaks my heart. Because I was utterly useless. Because no matter what I did or what I said I would be wrong. So I didn’t do anything, and I didn’t say anything.

It is so exhausting, but I suppose that is what the women in my life have taught me.


Deleted user September 20, 2017

We women are mercurial eccentric creatures:-)
I love quiet. Sometimes I do not even want to hear music.

=bernard= September 21, 2017

Two things: sitting in the cockpit it never occurred to be you'd be that high off the flight deck. It doesn't appear to be that high when you're sitting ready to take off. And, MAN, that must be some kick in the ass when you launch from the deck; but then I suppose you get use to the feeling.

Duke =bernard= ⋅ September 21, 2017

I'm 6'3" and on tip toes I couldn't reach the front cockpit boarding platform. You had to climb the boarding ladder built into the side of the intake, then play junior gymnast to move along the top of the intake to reach the boarding platform Once strapped in you were about 13-15' over the deck. Depended on fuel and store loads.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.