Catching Up in Just in Case

  • Sept. 20, 2017, 5:43 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

First, thank y’all for the sweet words on my last entry. We’ve found out that my former student was the passenger in a car that was hit head-on by a log truck that crossed the center line. The driver wasn’t drunk, he wasn’t texting, he just took a curve too wide. It was a horrible accident that left 2 young men gone, 3 kids without their daddy’s, and another young man in severe medical condition. My young cousin is slowly recovering. He lost his right leg from the knee down. He still has heart surgery ahead. I wish they weren’t out in Vegas. My uncle (who ran the lab in a major hospital for around 40 years) needs to be involved in decisions, and he’s not able to be. Honestly, I think his health is much worse than they realize, and they may be patching holes in a failing ship. I hope that I’m wrong, though. He’s really not able to make decisions on his own. So, for those so inclined, please include the families of the young men, and my cousin and his family in your prayers.
Other things are going ok. I am beyond exhausted, though. I was at school until almost 8 yesterday. Our school takes part in a Dept of Defense STEM program. My 5th graders go for a week. (Each class gets their own week, so I go 3 times), and then our 6th graders get to take part in an extension program. 23 kids were chosen to take part, and somehow, I became the staff sponsor for it. Which means for the next approximately 6 months, I will spend 2 days a month staying after school for the 2 1/2 hour program. They do the teaching, I’m just there to help with the kids, and to assist, as needed, with programs. That’s on top of Beta and being one of the site techs. (At some point I will figure out how to say no.)
On top of the long day yesterday, I had more visitors in my room. Teachers and instructional coach from a school in our parish (county for the rest of y’all). That meant I had to get to school extra early to clean, sort, and make sure everything was clean for company. They were very kind and generous with their praise, which was nice, but it’s always intimidating. Somehow they have all decided I’m the go-to for science instruction with this new curriculum. Ha! lol I’m struggling as much as the rest. I’m just putting the time into studying and learning the new curriculum, and they haven’t. We’ll see if any more show up lol.
I’m looking forward to this weekend. It’s Ntl Hunting and Fishing Day. A program put on by Wildlife and Fisheries. It’s an all-day event promoting hunting, fishing, and other outdoor activities for kids. It’s always a fun day. I’ve worked it for the past 15 years or so. Two of my best friends and I work the stage, the giving away of the door prizes. We get some time to sit and visit, then lots of time of craziness, giving stuff away, and calling for those who aren’t there. Some of my students always show up, and it’s fun to see them outside of school. It’s a hectic, but fun day. And we end it with a marathon fro-yo visit. At least 2 hours of sitting in the frozen yogurt place visiting more. We group text almost daily, but they both live off, so spending time together in person is awesome.
Have I mentioned that I’m exhausted? It’s not even 8 and I’m ready for bed. zzzzzz.....


Deleted user September 20, 2017

What a horrible accident ! I am so sorry. That is a real problem. I need to be stronger and not dwell on mine .

Small Town Girl September 24, 2017

Man this year sounds like it is going to be a very taxing one!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.